Skip to content

Srebrenica by Alma Ferovic

March 6, 2007
by

Last month the ICJ ruled that the events that took place in Srebrenica were genocide.  It was also ruled after the ICJ had stated that Serbia did provide military and financial assistance to the Bosnian Serbs and while Serbia did nothing to stop the actions of the Bosnian Serbs (and provided assistance) that Serbia was not guilty of genocide.

To the people of Srebrenica an unbelievable song has been dedicated to them by Alma Ferovic.  Through this song, Alma has managed to capture the beauty of our culture and at the same time one can hear through her voice and through the music the pain and grief that we all feel for what happened not only in Srebrenica but what happened throughout Bosnia.

Since I have posted this the owner of the youtube video has disabled the video, so please go watch it here.

Translation:

Oh Srebrenica!!

The dawn prepares the scent of grief

Sabah (sunrise) lights, there is no one

I hear the sobbing of innocent souls

The cry in the dark, from where we begin

Oh time, Oh time

Besides the dug grave lie pictures of memories

Their faces overwhelmed with desperation

Time prepares silver dreams

Pain and grief is unforgettable

Oh time, Oh time

Srebrenica, ah Oh Srebrenica, Srebrenica!!!
 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2007 1:36 am

    The video works again, and very beautiful it is.

  2. March 16, 2007 5:29 pm

    Thanks raincoaster! And Awesome – I am going to watch it again now. Then I’ll hop on over to your place to watch that NIN video :-)

  3. April 25, 2007 11:31 pm

    Have you got the new album yet? Apparently it’s pitch black until you play it, and then writing appears on the surface.

  4. April 26, 2007 4:09 pm

    No :( I haven’t. Maybe I’ll get it for myself for my birthday! I allready know that they have bought me an older Linkin Park cd and are going to try to get me the new one which they think comes out on my birthday. I am looking forward to that, but I have to get NIN, afterall I have had all of their other albums even if they were infinately borrowed.

  5. May 5, 2007 12:44 am

    I bought it. It’s seriously, seriously good, but not introspective. VERY political. Good stuff though.

    My CD player isn’t high-powered enough to make it change colour, strangely. It has just faded a bit. Stuck it in a different stereo to see if that makes a difference; or possibly it goes back to black slowly after you play it.

  6. June 25, 2007 5:48 am

    Also: have you seen http://www.lolnin.com ? Much fun there.

  7. June 25, 2007 2:59 pm

    I was out buying some old school stuff (god, how I hate callling the Clash and INXS old school!) at Rolling Stone Records and finally picked up the NIN cd.

    I gotta say that is definately some sick noise! As you said – very political – but I like it. So, NIN and Linkin Park have been playing over in my car. Well, that and I’ve been playing the Clash’s “This is England” which my little A absolutely loves. Guess she didn’t give herself a mohawk back in January for nothing and just when I thought her hack job wasn’t as noticable, we were passing up these girls and I see one staring at little A and then she nudges her friend and says look – that little girl has a mohawk.

    Site looks cool – I’ll take a look again later – when I’m not running out the door.

Trackbacks

  1. Srebrenica, the music video « raincoaster

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

