Skip to content

The ISNA Convention

September 4, 2007
by

It’s been 22 years since I last attended an Islamic convention – I’m not even absolutely positive that those were called ISNA conventions at the time but my parents had taken us accross the midwest and once even to Canada to attend these functions.  At that time these conventions meant great hotels with awesome pools, saunas, shopping and a weekend of hanging with my friends and cousins; almost like one giant slumber party.  By the time I thought myself too old for the swimming and loitering and actually wanted to go to the scheduled programs .. I was swarmed by prospecting males looking for a wife.  As my parents checked us in and I drifted off to the bazaar looking for books and scarves – I had three marriage proposals in 15 minutes.  After that – I refused to leave our hotel room (you’d think that would have been the end of the proposals but it wasn’t) except for one trip that was taken to the Bloomington mosque.  That was the last time I went to a convention – 22 years ago.

So this year when I discovered that it would be the last ISNA convention in Chicago, I decided to go.  It was pretty awesome!  I went to a few of the programs – though not nearly as many as I would have liked to have gone to - between having to get the family ready in the mornings to the various programs going on at the same time it was quite challenging.  I’m actually still recovering from the long days and I’m right back to work again, so over the next few days I’ll recap some of the programs/lectures that I attended, do a little post about the bazaar and feature a few of the artists that I ran accross.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2007 2:32 am

    Being cheeky – how many marriage proposals were there this time? ;)

  2. Jihad permalink
    September 10, 2007 9:43 pm

    Hey Samaha,

    It had been 10 years since my last ISNA – the last time my wife and I were volunteers, and they made volunteer T-shirts that they gave only to the men. Nice.

    Alhamdu Lillah, times have changed at ISNA, definitely for the better – I thought on the whole this time was worthwhile.

  3. Fay permalink
    December 30, 2010 8:43 am

    Jihad, how did you volunteer for ISNA? I cant seem to find any links to volunteer to help out.

  4. December 30, 2010 2:23 pm

    Hi Fay,

    I think that local organizations where the convention takes place help with a lot of coordinating. For example the CIOGC helps with the Chicago conventions and that is who I would contact to volunteer in Chicago.

    Perhaps you can email the director to find out where the 2011 convention is and who you would speak to about volunteering – the contact info is at the bottom of the page: http://www.isna.net/conferences.aspx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

