Skip to content

Quick note on Identity

January 12, 2010
by

I’m a second generation Bosniamerimuslim.

Hehe – I like it.  See, I did not put my religion before my ethnicity folks, but hmmm, I guess there is still room for complaint that I put one ethnicity in front of another but it’s just more fun in being a meri Muslim than to be a bosni Muslim which could be mixed up with bossy Muslim.  I think I definately am a bossy American but I’m more of a passive Muslim (you know the moderate who is supposed to get along with her co-religionists) – huh, that’s going to require some thought.  I don’t know – a bossy American + a passive Muslim.  Oh wait, I got it: bossy American + passive Muslim = Democrat.  Okay, wait, I think I have to change my identity.

I’m a Bosniamerimuslicrat.

Uh oh.  What have I done now?

Okay this is going to take more thought and I have no time for this … back to my Race and Ethnicity classwork.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Owen permalink*
    January 14, 2010 11:30 am

    I thought the purpose of education was to make life a little bit more comprehensible.

  2. Required permalink
    January 16, 2010 4:08 pm

    Islam is the worst religion, followed closely by every other religion.

  3. January 18, 2010 8:13 am

    Hi Owen,
    :) hehe – needed to do a little free writting to get going on an assignment. needed a break from the serious and play a little with the subject matter i figured a nice little moooooslim boo post would be just what was needed. I have to say though, in my race and ethnicities class we discussed how we group people and we have a dominant group that does differentiating and the subordinate groups which suffer consequences. On the other hand, we had a supplemental website where we had to try to differentiate people who were Chinese, Japanese, and Korean from pictures of faces. Now, as individuals we want people to be able to differentiate us from others. In my opinion this is evident even in dominant groups as well because it is about being an individual yet still being associated with a group. However, I wonder if we contribute to grouping by wanting to be differentiated from others while still wanting people to be able to identify us by group. I’m not trying to blame the victim here – but this just doesn’t make sense to me – don’t differentiate, but now differentiate.

    but, considering I am just completing an environmental science and race and ethnicities class this week – I’m lucky to be sane. It turns out that I’m not bad at science (at least not environmental science) it is just that I’d rather have been stupid about it. I’m having nightmares! Now combine that class with my race and ethnicities class and of course that I’m muslim (yay, we get a whole 2 chapters in my book and the book says that we’re vegetarians??????) plus knowing everything bosnians have gone through – I’m feeling hopeless. If we’re perfectly content with stealing land from one another, enslaving each other, hating one another, killing each other, discriminating, making people subordinate – then why the hell would we care about our environment and future generations?

    Ugh, I need to find a way back to optimism.

  4. Phil permalink
    February 18, 2010 12:13 pm

    “Ugh, I need to find a way back to optimism.”

    My motto is that we are given the option of being from the Balkans or being optimistic, can’t have both. :P

    Good luck with your quest though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

