Skip to content

Muslim scholars write open letter to Pope

October 14, 2006
by

38 Muslim Muftis, experts and scholars have accepted Pope Benedict’s apology and accepted his call for dialogue with an open letter that will be handed to him on Sunday. 

Islamic magazine has the exclusive on the letter and a link to the letter itself.  Just click.

As a Muslim, I was appauled by the reaction of the Muslim community both to the Pope Benedict speech and to the Muhammed cartoons.  In my opinion there could be no greater blasphemy or insult to Islam than the burning of sacred buildings, rioting, shooting at nuns, and loss of precious lives that Muslims carried out in those days.

This letter is a step in the right direction, hopefully one that is not too little to late.

On a side note I would like to say that I was extremely proud to see H.E. Shayk Professor Dr. Mustafa Ceric, Grand Mufti and Head of ‘Ulema of Bosnia and Herzegovina on the list of signatories.  He is responsible for a large portion of my knowledge of Islam, he was my Arabic teacher and a great role model.  He also had  managed to secure a spot at Gazi Husrefbeg’s Madresa for me, but I had to kindly decline as I had allready started college and thought that it would delay goals that I had set for myself, and – okay, okay – I had allready started dating my husband.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2006 10:36 pm

    Salaam Dear Sister Samaha:

    There is a also a little reported letter to the Pope from one of the Patriarchs of the Greek Orthodox Church about his Muslim statement. Here is a link on the Darvish blog:

    http://darvish.wordpress.com/2006/10/11/letter-to-the-pope/

    And the same issue of Islamica magazine also published an excerpt of the prologue and first chapter of Master of the Jinn: A Sufi Novel🙂

    Ya Haqq!

  2. October 16, 2006 4:30 pm

    Assalamu Alaikum Irving!

    Great post, I just read it.

    I will have to look into the excerpts! It looks very interesting!

Leave a Reply

