Skip to content

My writing and Memories of Eid

October 16, 2006
by

Occasionally, I will write about things that are going on in my life or of childhood memories and I tend to get a little lengthy in those writing, so I will devote pages to those writings.  I am still learning how this site works and if anyone has suggestions as to how to organize my site I am all ears (okay, I’m all eyes).

Currently, I am working on writing about my year in Bosnia (pre-war, the year of the 84 Olympics) well, it is a little more than just about that year, but that’s all the information you will get from me.  I’m not sure if I will share that writing just yet, I’m still toying with the idea.

Today though, I have devoted a page to my childhood memories of Eid, following is an excerpt of the whole short story:

Ramadan is near over and my thoughts keep traveling back to days of innocence rich with tradition in which our parents managed to recreate what somewhat resembled a Bosnian Eid. It would only be when I turned 14 and actually was in Bosnia for that year that I realized that are parents had managed to preserve something wonderful for us.

 

If the aroma of lamb, Turkish coffee and baklava were all in the air at 5 o’clock in the morning at my parents house 25 years ago, you knew it was Eid. It is the same memory every year, going downstairs to find my dad in his suit sipping his Turkish coffee, my mother in her silk housedress, hair in rollers under a scarf at the table rearranging the baklava onto a crystal platter.

You can find the rest here:

Ramadan: The Leg of Lamb Breakfast

One Comment leave one →
  1. sam permalink
    November 12, 2010 11:42 pm

    awwwwwe….. mine is little different in pakistan….. sweet rice or Sheer Khorma early in the morning my mom used to make…. and so much noise earlier tells u its Eid

Leave a Reply

