Skip to content

And Ziggy (allright, allright Zihad) played guitar….

October 21, 2006
by

I was on my merry little way yesterday down my blogroll when I came upon raincoaster’s post “peter murphy and nine inch nails” where I was so tempted that I just couldn’t help myself.  I am ashamed to say that I commited haram.  I hit the play button and let the evil music consume my soul.  I will also blame that evil on my response within her post.

Seriously though, raincoaster asked about Peter Murphy (probably mockingly) and as I searched to see if Peter Murphy had been in any other offshoots of Bauhaus, like Love and Rockets or Tones on Tail (and I think there were about 10 other bands that I can’t remember), I ran accross wikipedia’s biography of Peter Murphy.  It was here that I read for the first time (I’m so embarassed that I didn’t know this, just what sort of punk am I?) that Peter Murphy converted to Islam.

It turns out that he converted in 1990 and even moved to Turkey at some point.  He is inspired by Sufism.  (That’s so cool!)  Turkish influences can be found in his album “Holy Smoke” which wasn’t well recieved by his fans.  He continued recording and he has even writen songs for Dido and Kylie Minogue.

It was with the album “Recall” that Murphy had regained some of his fanbase, an album in which old songs were remixed and some new material is also found on this album.  The album was reworked in conjunction with Sasha Konietzko, Bill Reifen and KMFDM (hee hee another favorite of mine).

Bauhaus has now reformed and I actually missed one of their concerts this summer in Chicago.  Peter Murphy is with them and the tour has been a success.  Peter Murphy has refused to perform some of the songs because he has converted to Islam, those songs include “Stigmata Martyr” and “St. Vitus’ Dance.” 

On today’s shopping list though, I have jotted down “Dust”.  A collaboration between Murphy and turkish artist Mercan Dede.  Heavy in Turkish instrumentation and songwriting.  While this album has disappointed many Murphy fans, it has also gained much praise.  I have an appreciation for so many different types of music, I think I am going to like this one.  I’ll let you all know.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2006 2:58 pm

    Oh, and Jeanne, when you come accross this on Monday – yes I know Ziggy Stardust is David Bowie – but Bauhaus has the best cover of it and we call Zihad Ziggy – hence the title.

  2. October 22, 2006 5:34 am

    No, seriously, I never heard of Peter Murphy before, although the voice is familiar. Thanks for this!

  3. October 23, 2006 12:25 am

    Now can you tell me why all the people in the comments on youtube are yapping about Twiggy? Who’s Twiggy? Twiggy, Atticus and Trent: why don’t these people have normal names, like Bob or Steve or, for that matter, Peter?

  4. October 23, 2006 4:09 am

    Attikus aka Oni Sakti from 12 Rounds, co-founder of Error, co wrote half of the Korn album See you on the other side.

    Twiggy – from Marilyn Manson?????? btw – Marilyn Manson has an awesome remake of Tainted Love – check that out, if you don’t know it.

    Trent you allready know.

    You want normal names – try Daniel Ash, Robert Smith. Hell – try a little Sid, last name Vicious – hee hee.

  5. October 24, 2006 5:01 am

    Tch Tch Tch – what about truly great names – like Angus Young from AC/DC or Steve Harris from Iron Maiden – – – oops – sorry, you’re into punk, not REAL music (giggle)

  6. October 24, 2006 10:33 am

    Thanks, bear with me; I’m learning. But I already know Iron Maiden is just noize and there’s nobody as pretty as Trent in the band.

  7. October 25, 2006 9:53 am

    Iron Maiden is just noise?????

    GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

    See, now you’ve wrecked my caps lock!

  8. October 25, 2006 7:15 pm

    Hee hee – I see raincoaster has straightened everything out🙂

  9. Jeanne permalink
    November 3, 2006 7:58 pm

    I really like P.Murphy’s “Love Hysteria”
    and “Deep” which are precursors to “Dust” and “Recall”, but are relative to “psychological theories” rather than any religious affiliation. My God – I haven’t heard the Bauhaus version of Ziggy in years…but it’s on my list(vol. 2 along with Echo, Furs, Anne Clark, Haysi, Bronski, etc). Such happy memories!

  10. November 3, 2006 11:55 pm

    Oh god – you mention Anne Clark to me – what are you trying to do drive me crazy.

    Harder now, harder now, it rains even harder now….

    God, that song is as good now as it was then. I don’t think it sounds “old”. Shit – Jeanne, we’re old school!

  11. October 20, 2008 1:38 am

    I only just found this out and for some reason I find it hysterically funny! Perpahs it’s because it’s two parts of my life that seem diametrically at odds with one another suddenly combined in one! So funny!

  12. October 20, 2008 10:22 pm

    Saha – just one day shy of a year since I found out and I know exactly how you feel🙂

Leave a Reply

