Skip to content

What an eventful day

October 26, 2006
by

3 busses torched in France.

A Muslim cleric described women who don’t wear scarves as “uncovered meat” who invite rape, then says “oops, sorry”.

Danish paper wins the Muhammed cartoon libel case.

Here is what I think.

You have discrimination problems?  That’s fine.  A nice peaceful protest will get world attention.  Right now, I’m not going to reward barbaric behavior with giving a damn.

Time for a lesson in manners and some sensitivity classes.  

The exact types of cartoons happen targeting every religion.  Hell, the Middle East is full of anti-semitic cartoons.  Deal with it.  You really want it to stop?  Fine, hurt them economically with the boycott.

When are we going to adapt?

Archie Archive has the translation of the speech in which women were referred to as “uncovered meat”by Sheik Taj Din al-Hilali, Mufti of Australia.  Please read the translation here.

I do want to add that I do find it consoling that the sheik’s remarks were condemned by most of the Australian Muslim leadership and that he has been banned from speaking at the mosque for two or three months.

I want to clarify that I do believe in freedom of speech, but freedom of speech does not mean freedom of consequences.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2006 3:41 am

    Well put, dear Sister. Muslims will never progress in any country until their attitudes of women as a piece of meat are eradicated. It helps that such attitudes are condemned when spouted in public.

    Ya Haqq!

  2. October 27, 2006 9:30 am

    While I disagree with what Sheik Taj Din al-Hilali said, I also believe that the Australian media pounced on his speech and turned what he said into a ridiculous sensationalist field day. Obviously, it’s good that his attitudes were condemned, but I feel as if the media here, by publicising these speeches, inflames anti-Muslim feeling in a very negative and unhelpful way. There were even phone polls on breakfast TV here today along the lines of: “Should the Mufti [as he is known as here] be deported?” But he’s an Australian citizen! It all just degenerates into “Them” and “Us” xenophobia. I suppose I feel especially sensitive towards it because I’m a migrant. If I voice my opinion, is somebody going to deport me?

Trackbacks

  1. Samaha
  2. Sheikh Taj al-din al-Hilali Shakin-It Up Once Again « Samaha

Leave a Reply

