Skip to content

Islamic Schools, The Lists.

October 28, 2006
by

I was over at Wa Salaam reading the post on Memorization vs. Actualization where I was once again reminded of the inadequacies of Islamic private schools.  It was partially my frustration with Islamic schools that inspired my post titled Pilgrims, Settlers and Trailblazers.

I spend 3-4 hours a day in the car driving my children 43 miles one way to get to full-time Islamic school.  That is what I have been doing for the last 3 years.  For 3 years prior to that I was driving anywhere from 4-6 hours a day for 32 miles one way, but I was heading east into the city, into the traffic, so the drive was much longer.  Now, please do not say Mashallah or Allahu Akbar or Alhamdullilah, as I am not one of those parents that love their child from their liver and everything that I do, I do for them.  I want them to know who they are.  I want them not only to practice Islam, but to live Islam.  I want this for them because I love them and not because I love Allah.  I’m not saying that I don’t love Allah, I’m just saying that that is not why I do this, so please, no praises.

What is it that my children get out of Islamic schools, you ask? (and if you didn’t, i’m a gonna tell ya anyway!)

  1.  They get to pray during school hours – the whole school gets to pray.
  2.  They get to learn Arabic, supposedly conversational, as a language since Kindergarten.
  3.  They observe the month of Ramadan with the whole school. 
  4.  Eid breaks.
  5.  They can read and write in Arabic.
  6.   Uniforms/Modesty
  7.   Broader knowledge of other Muslim cultures
  8.   I have improved their chances of success by giving them a sense of security, a sense of belonging. (research does show this to be the case).

What I haven’t given my children:

  1. Comprehension of the Quran
  2. Integration within the country that they were born in. (except for Averroes Academy – hats off to you!)
  3. The right to choose if they will wear hijab or not (Again – except for Averroes Academy – yes, I do miss you).
  4. Broader understanding of other religions.
  5. An appreciation for sports and staying fit.
  6. With all of the time that we spend in the car, their childhood has suffured the most, less playtime.
  7. The confidence that they can be anything that they want to be – as they have seen their mother under constant ridicule for being asked to sit on the school board and then accepting – as some women believe that women shouldn’t hold positions of power.
  8. The true American experience, discrimination and all.

I’d like to change that.  I’d like to give my children everything. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sheryza permalink
    October 28, 2006 4:30 am

    It’s nice to see that their are parents out there trying to givetheir kids some type of Islamic identity. May Allah make your job easir for you. Ameen.

  2. October 28, 2006 2:12 pm

    Thank you Sheyza.

    “May Allah make your job easir for you.”

    I think he allready has, I just got XM radio😉

Leave a Reply

