Skip to content

I don’t know whether to cry to laugh or to pull out my hair

October 31, 2006
by

When I calm down from reading this:

@samaha
I still maintain what Imam said is in line with Quran and Sunnah. If a women is uncovered and gets raped most of the blame rests on her. But I do not see where Imam said that rapist can be let free. No way. Even if women was uncovered rapists has to punished by death.

You talk about some Al-Rafihi. I do not know this man. If he says so you have to ask him for justification and not me. But I still considering his statement:

If I came across a rape crime – kidnap and violation of honour – I would discipline the man and order that the woman be arrested and jailed for life.’ Why would you do this, Rafihi? He says because if she had not left the meat uncovered, the cat wouldn’t have snatched it.

If you have even basic knowledge of english grammar can see it is a rhetoric statement, implying the importance of Hijab.

You said: Now – what about those women who are not Muslim, who know nothing about Islam and Allah’s word, and let’s for one minute assume that your quote from the Quran doesn’t refer to a “particular” time in history and still mkes no mention of the veil. What about them? Do you believe that Muslim men should then be free to rape these women? Do you believe that it is the fault of these women that they got raped?
First, Quran is not meant for a particular time period. It is meant for eternity and applicable in all times. And none muslim women are very well aware of Quran and Islam. All they need it to grab a copy and read it. they cannot claim they did not know.

Moreover, where did Imam say that muslim men are free to rape uncovered women.

As far as hadood ordinance is concerned, I do not want to know about it. If the majority of scholars in your country agree that hadood ordinance is not against Islam and Sunnah, I have nothing against it. So dont ask me. I did not make that law. Ask your law makers. You petition will be more effective if you ask some one from your country. Not someone from outside.

Now I understand why Prophet Muhammad, may peace and blesing of allah be upon him, said that I saw more women in hell than men.

I will be posting about my problems with Sharia.

I’ve had it, I can’t even reply to him anymore. Please though, I’m urging all of the reasonable Muslims that visit my site to have the patience to try to enlighten this person.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Mir Nazim permalink
    October 31, 2006 5:31 pm

    I am waiting to be enlightened!

  2. November 1, 2006 2:22 am

    Don’t get worked up over the comments of others. One shaykh told us that we should think of other people’s opinions as though they are small children.
    You can’t get mad at kids and you can’t take them too seriously either so just keep smiling.

  3. vinod permalink
    November 1, 2006 6:50 am

    Rape is not about sex or lust, it is about power.

  4. dezhen permalink
    November 1, 2006 5:07 pm

    People need to be willing to listen to a different view in order to begin the process of change. Some people don’t want to change, nor to listen or give credence to other views.

    I have lately been trying to take to heart and learn fromthe ayat in Qur’an, particularly the last line:

    “True piety does not consist in turning your faces towards the east or the west – but [the] truly pious is he who believes in God, and the Last Day; and the angels, and revelation, and the prophets; and spends [of] his substance – however much he himself may cherish it – upon his near of kin, and the orphans, and the needy, and the wayfarer, and the beggars, and for the freeing of human beings from bondage; and is constant in prayer, and renders the purifying dues; and [truly pious are] they who keep their promises whenever they promise, and are patient in misfortune and hardship and in time of peril: it is they that have proved themselves true, and it is they, they who are conscious of God.” (2:177)

    ma’a salama!🙂

  5. November 1, 2006 5:50 pm

    Apple, I’m smiling!

    Vinod – thank you for pointing that out. It is true.

    Dezhen – You have a very good point. Sometimes, though, all it takes is to show someone that other views have merit as well. If they choose to listen, that’s great. If not, that’s too bad. I thought maybe I was miscommunicating with the blogger and others would be more successful.

    That is a beautiful ayat. It deserves its own post. I hope you don’t mind if I use it in one🙂

  6. November 8, 2006 5:39 am

    Haha! I’d pull hair but not mine! How ridiculous!

    Like Vinod points out, rape is about power. Married women (even Muslim women) are raped by their husbands and indeed veiled women are also raped. But I guess it is not a debate about “covered or uncovered meat.” “Meat” shouldn’t exist – not outside the home, not inside, nowhere.

  7. November 8, 2006 4:08 pm

    I read that somewhere the other day and I hadn’t even thought about it that way before. The mere fact that we were being compared to meat, be it covered or uncovered is where the true problem lies.

Trackbacks

  1. Why I am a Muslim « Achelois

Leave a Reply

