Skip to content

I Appreciate You

November 2, 2006
by

If you haven’t read my post titled Tribute to Alia Ansari please click here.  

This morning I was kneeling in front of my youngest daughter who is now almost 5 and zipping up her winter coat when she reminded me that I had to make her lunch.

“No, baby, I don’t have to today.” I replied back.

“Why?  Is today piiiiiiiiiiiiizza daaaaaayyyyyyyyyy?” She aks. (She stretches out her words as if she’s singing every sentence since she started talking – which was at almost 5 months and before she could sit)

“Yes, baby, it’s piiiiiiiizzzzzzaaa daaaaaayyyyy.” I copy back.

“Wow!  How did you know that mommmmmmmmmyyyyyyyyy?  You’re soooooooo smmaaaaaart!” She exclaims and with that she throws her body at me and hugs me as tight as she can.

I hugged her back just as tightly, my lips sporting the biggest smile that they can and I feel good.

“I love you, baby!” I say kiss her cheek and get up taking her hand to walk her to the car.

“I love you, tooooooo.” She says back with a smile.

Not that anything can top my daughter’s love and admiration, but then this morning I read healingmagichands response to Tribute to Alia Ansari in which she states that she may participate in Wear a Hijab Day on November 13, 2006 which is planned to honor Alia Ansari.   If it wasn’t enough that I felt so good that I may have inspired one person to wear a hijab on this day dedicated to this wonderful woman, healingmagichands goes on to say:

“And I want to tell the people who hate and fear Islam,who call out pejorative names for every faith that is different from them, to come to Samaha’s blog. Read what she has to say. Is this beautiful, gentle, thoughtful person someone to hate and fear?

Blessed Be, Samaha.”

At that point, I had become overwhelmed with tears.  In general, I have been overwhelmed by all of the support I have been getting in regards to this blog, that I started on October 11, 2006.  This blog hasn’t been what I originally intended, somehow though I intend on getting it there.  Still, I feel as though I am making a difference in this world with this little blog and it has been because of all of the encouraging comments and the wonderful e-mails that overwhelm me on a daily basis.

I would like to thank you all and let you all know how much I appreciate you!  While this is still manageable…….

Thank you from the bottom of my heart:

Lydia

Raincoaster (although to get Raincoaster over to your blog you have to say “Trent Reznor and click your heels together three times😉

archiearchive

Shaharazad

Helen

Irving 

Firefly

tantalize (who also contributes to Kaleidoscope, which is featuring my writing that none of you seemed to like – hint, hint.)

Muslim Apple – whose blog I am exiled from, we think it is the NSA – although I did just get that Invalid Key when clicking on a link to Raincoaster’s post highlighting my Let my heart be my veil post.

Abu Sahajj from WaSalam, he’s been here once, but he is very welcoming at his own blog.

healingmagichands

sheryza 

dezhen

vinod

and also, thank you to:

Smart and Final Isis which have linked to my post on Reis Ulema Mustafa Ceric.

I hope that I have covered all my commentors, and if I haven’t honest to god it was unintentional.  To everyone that has e-mailed thank you as well, I hope that I have responded to each and everyone, again, if I haven’t it was an honest mistake.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. dezhen permalink
    November 2, 2006 9:04 pm

    It is nice to know that some of those in the little circle of blogs and comments I frequent may be spreading some good in the world!🙂

    As for me, I have found no time recently to write anything, although what I did write tended to be nerdy stuff anyway.

    As I said before, keep up the good work!

    ma’a salama

  2. November 2, 2006 10:37 pm

    Now I’m blushing. I should be thanking you, for it was through you that I found Eteraz. He provides the “Big Picture” stuff, while you provide that wonderful personal touch. By reading you both, I am privileged to be given an insight into a culture which is not my own. A culture which the mainstream media is only interested in the fringes.

  3. November 2, 2006 10:40 pm

    Oops – I also meant to say that one way to stop raincoaster from visiting is to make a reference to “Trent Reznor and his Thumbtacks”. Hehehehe – I’m evil!

  4. isis13 permalink
    November 2, 2006 10:56 pm

    Dear Samaha:

    Check my new post, “Death of an American Mother”:
    http://smartandfinalisis.wordpress.com/2006/11/03/death-of-an-american-mother/

    Thanks for the inspiration.

    Warm regards,

    Isis

  5. November 3, 2006 2:01 am

    Reading your blog gives me good vibes, Samaha.

    Your daughter sounds so cute. My baby has just learnt how to blow kisses. I almost burst into tears the first time he did it, it melted my heart.

  6. November 3, 2006 10:22 am

    Asalamu alaykum,

    When I click on my link in this post it redirects me back here, which is ok because I like it here.

    I remember I was eating suhur when I first found your blog and I immediately bookmarked it.

    I try to welcome each of my new commenters but sometimes it gets a bit out of hand and I don’t want anyone to feel left out if I accidentally overlook them.

    Anyhow, this post made me feel special. Many thanks.

  7. shaharazed permalink
    November 3, 2006 1:17 pm

    Assalaam alaykum,

    May God reward you for your kind words Samaha.

  8. November 3, 2006 3:07 pm

    Your writing is beautiful. I hope to read you more often, and appreciate anything you wish to share about your life, your faith, your love, your family.

    We all can stand together with each other hand in hand, even when some forces in the world attempt to render us asunder.

    Peace be with you, friend.

    ~firefly

  9. November 3, 2006 5:35 pm

    Salaam Dear Sister:

    You deserve all the praise you get, for your courage and writing. Alhamdulillah! All good things come from God, and so the heart which guides you and the pen which writes what your heart dictates, is really Allah’s doing. Who could ask for anything more?

    Ya Haqq!

  10. November 3, 2006 11:58 pm

    Isis – thank you for highlighting that story.

    Thank you everyone – I really just meant for this to be a thank you to you.

    Trent Reznor and his thumbtacks? Hmmmmmmm…..

  11. November 6, 2006 8:34 am

    I know. Archie is culturally disadvantaged, so we should pity him, rather than ridicule him. Even though he likes AC/DC.

  12. November 6, 2006 5:25 pm

    Maybe we should force him to listen to more NIN, maybe that could actually reverse some of the damage done by Iron Maiden😉

  13. sheryza permalink
    November 7, 2006 8:22 am

    no my dear sweet sister i shoild be thanking you for the your support. thank you for the wonderful job your doing and for the wonderful reminder. may allah bless you and your family. and the same for the rest of our fellow bloggers. thanks to you all. but samaha your a doll. made me want to cry when you talked about your daughter. that was so sweet.

  14. November 7, 2006 1:03 pm

    Thank you sheryza🙂

    I’m sure I’ll be posting many more stories of my youngest. She is the sweetest thing and she knows it.

Trackbacks

  1. Death of an American Mother « Smart and Final Isis

Leave a Reply

