Skip to content

Calling all bloggers! Raincoaster needs help!

November 6, 2006
by

Apparently, wordpress has switched her URL to raincoaster.com and her hits have diminished.  She’s in doubt, so she’s blaming the technology.  Yup, that’s my reason – can’t get in.  Damn technology!   Shhhhhhhhhhhh……

So, we all need to switch our bloggrolls to raincoaster.com.  Not only that but, since the change she needs another 100,000 places to regain her ground over at technorati – another 75 links (74 now).  So let’s get her back to that place and maybe a few more.  Just go ahead and make a post like this and link to her (and me – I don’t mind going along for the ride😉 )

Or just go ahead and link some silly little word within your blog to her post.

Now, I’m going to go see if the same problem is occuring with Muslim Apple (nope, not it, just checked) as today  while trying to get over to Raincoaster, I got that same Invalid Key message.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2006 7:58 pm

    Grrrrr, I hate it when WordPress fulfill my dreams, frustrating my plans for world domination. I shall feed them to Great Cthulhu!

  2. November 6, 2006 11:22 pm

    raincoaster –

    shhhhhhhhhh, be vewy vewy quiet. if anyone here thinks you are an idolator you’ll get fed to the Great Ctulhu and they’ll throw me in as well.

  3. November 6, 2006 11:50 pm

    Don’t worry: my mother wouldn’t even let me play with the Catholics because they prayed to icons.

  4. November 6, 2006 11:55 pm

    ~wiping sweat off forehead~

    See, nothing to see here people, move along.

    (Nice save!)

  5. November 7, 2006 12:10 am

    The answer is quite simple – She needs to post more pictures of, and possibly a few sound bites of Iron Maiden! I shall invoke Yog Sothooth. His praeternatural (word of the day) instincts shall raise raincoaster back to the heights. It is hoped his grip is sure.

  6. November 7, 2006 12:28 pm

    Well I didn’t want to dip into Iron Maidenhood (although there are those who said it’s nothing more than the story of my life) so instead I just posted a pic from Australia for the benefit of Americans. Take a look and tell me what you think.

  7. November 7, 2006 12:31 pm

    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr, I just got that Invalid Key message again.

  8. November 7, 2006 12:32 pm

    I can’t even get in through my blogroll. I’ll go take a look from another computer.

  9. November 8, 2006 3:18 am

    Very annoying. I wonder what’s wrong with WordPress. Maybe try the old link? http://raincoaster.wordpress.com and see if that works.

  10. saqi permalink
    November 8, 2006 5:21 am

    And this was bound to happen. PageRank is now the measure of all things. lol

  11. November 8, 2006 7:45 am

    Then I’m set! Woo-hoo!

    BTW Samaha, WordPress would like you to tell them exactly what happened when you tried to get to my blog, whether you got a 440 error message or what it said or what happened. They’re trying to track down weird outages and need some help.

  12. November 8, 2006 3:15 pm

    Asalamu alaykum,

    Samaha are you still getting the invalid key over at my blog? Raincoaster, did you sign up for a new url or did they just select you for a change? They said, they were going to randomly select a few blogs for the change.

    I changed mine voluntarily, and yes my hits, search engine rank, and incoming links did suffer but I didn’t mind. I like having a shorter url with no subdomain, my google rank has actually now increased, and I am getting more hits than I did before, my old incoming links do not register at my new url but that’s a minor thing for me.

  13. November 8, 2006 4:51 pm

    Raincoaster, I can’t get in through your old url either. No 440 error message just Invalid Key in the top left hand corner of my browser window. Muslim Apple and I have been working on figuring it out. It may really just be my computer. I am procrastinating with reformatting my hard drive.

    I will send you an attachment of what my screen looks like when I try to get into your page (as soon as gmail works for me – that seems to be down today.)

    Yes, I’m still getting the same message at your blog Muslim Apple.

    Saqi – I don’t know – page rank makes more sense than the metric system

    (message to hubby – it was a joke – hee hee – metric rules!)

    Hey – how do you change over to the shorter url? Do I have to pay for that? Maybe I’d rather do that now than later. I mean who knows, I may get all famous and that. Speaking of – I don’t see any incoming links from any of you.

  14. May 4, 2008 2:50 am

    All is well now. If you’re reading this, set your blogrolls to raincoaster.com.

    Yes, you have to pay for that. I think it’s $15 a year. Do it as early in the blog’s life as you can, so most of the links go to the new URL; google is sophisticated enough to know to connect the old and new, but Technorati is not.

    Incoming links? Haven’t I always put out for you, baby?

  15. May 4, 2008 3:48 am

    hehe – long time no see, darling! And yes, yes, you’ve always been good to me. I think you’re even my first pingback!

    Yeah – that technorati thing is what keeps me from switching over – not that an authority of 29 means anything but I’ve grown attached to it. Maybe I should hire you to campaign for me! I don’t think I could afford as much as wordpress though😦

Leave a Reply

