Skip to content

Meow!

November 10, 2006
by

If a man truly loved his wife would his heart not bleed when she pleaded for his attention? Is a woman’s heart a lesser organ that it shouldn’t plead for love; hunger for attention; and sink with sadness?”

These are the words of Suroor!  Words that made me sigh today and my heart ping for a brief second.  Words that made me remember why I won’t say what I want, not for not wanting it enough but for not wanting that heart to sink if disappointed.  Never even giving it a chance.  It doesn’t even have to do with love, it has to do with how I deal with most situations.  My greatest flaw and my greatest asset.

The past few days I have been reading Suroor’s blog.  I ran accross her at saqi’s blog after checking out saqi’s blog after saqi left a comment on my blog.  For some reason Peter Gabriel’s “Games without Frontiers” tune is now stuck in my head and I better go find out what the lyrics are before it turns out that they are in some way perverse and totally inappropriate.  Not really appropriate, but not perverse so it will stay.

Anyway, so I have been reading some of Suroors posts as well as emailing her.  I am just so amazed with her blog.  She brings a smile to my face and makes me laugh, I just want to reach through the monitor and give her a huge hug! 

I’m sending you over to Suroor, the happy cat’s blog so that she can make you smile and laugh as well.  I think you will like her!

Please make sure you read these posts:

Who am I? I’m an ethnic mess!

Why I am a Muslim

And “I” am the bent rib?!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2006 2:11 am

    Salaam Dear Sister:

    You are so right, Suroor is one of my favorite blogs as well, for her powerful and often beautiful writing, and the humanness and truth in her words.

    Ya Haqq!

  2. November 11, 2006 4:27 am

    Oh, dear, dear Samaha and brother Irving! My God, you two have flattered me; I’m blushing. But, enough of that for today, for today I am the queen of blogs. I’ll be so proud all day because Samaha thinks I’m cool!

    Thank you for making my day!😀

  3. saqi namah permalink
    November 11, 2006 7:38 pm

    I had also recenly started reading the sister Suroor’s blog and I must say that she strikes the right cord when discussing problems. It reminded me that sometimes the problems that we encounter in daily life are reflective of our society and culture at large. Again great blog sister Suroor.

  4. November 12, 2006 9:00 pm

    Suroor – you’re queen of blogs everyday!

  5. November 13, 2006 8:37 am

    Thank you for leading me to Suroor’s blog – it is very impressive and she is a sensitive and compelling writer.

Leave a Reply

