Skip to content

Thanksgiving Wind-down

November 24, 2006
by

My thanksgiving is finally approaching its end and I am finally able to sit down and relax for a few, do something for myself.  Surprisingly, the day went unbelievably well.  My oldest daughter helped out this year, she was basically by my side the whole time I was preparing food.  I couldn’t get her to do any cleaning without telling her over and over again, but when it came to washing and prepping vegetables, she really surprised me.  She basically chopped all the veggies today, prepared the salad, did some sauteing and kept on the dishes.

My middle daughter was my husbands little helper today.  She was forced to go to Menards with him – he he!  She helped him clean in the garage and organizing the basement (our house all a wreck as we’ve been remodelling for a while now and much ends up in the basement).  She cleaned not only her own room but her sisters room, and I’d like to know how that came about, I’m willing to bet that the oldest has some blackmail on her – hmmmmm.  Most of all, she kept the little one out of my hair.

The youngest of the three, well, good thing she’s cute, because I was going a little nutty when she wanted frozen pizza for lunch and then decided on fish sticks if she couldn’t have the pizza.  Both ovens were going at low temps, one with the turkey, the other with the roast beef.  She promised she was gonna tell daddy that I wouldn’t give her pizza or fish sticks as soon as she saw him – sniffle sniffle. 

I’m thankful for my daughters.

My husband, well, he loved breakfast and had no complaints about thanksgiving dinner.  All was good and he is content.  He was especially happy that the soup was near perfect.  This is the first year since we’ve moved into this house that I haven’t either burned the soup (this house had propane when we first moved in so every appliance was electric), over salted the soup or over peppered the soup.  It’s his favorite soup and usually by the time Thanksgiving rolls around he’s missed it terribly.

I’m thankful for my husband.

My sister and brother-in-law and their two children showed up early (which was wonderfull as the turkey was done sooner than expected).  My sister-in-law and brother-in-law and their two children also made it early, which was unusual as they usually end up getting to our place late as my brother-in-law wants to see his family on Thanksgiving as well.  My mother showed up even though she said that she wouldn’t and she showed up to a set table, a clean kitchen and the turkey platter was in my hands to place on the dining room table.  If my brother shows up now, he can help himself to the left overs.  Ughhhh, I can hear it now, “(insert sweetest brotherly voice here) come on Sama, pleaaaaaase.  Come on, what’s it gonna take a few minutes?  Sure I can do it for myself, but it won’t taste the same.”  I’m such a sucker.

I’m thankful for my family.

I miss my dad though.  Last night I was making sure everything was on the list, going through my mental list of everyone’s favorites and my dad still comes up on that list.  It’s those moments that I forget that he’s gone that are the worst, as for a few seconds I feel a sense of joy and then reallity kicks in.   Still this Thanksgiving was a little easier than last year.

Still, I’m thankful that my dad got to die exactly the way he always said he wanted to die, unexpectedly, peacefully in his sleep, so he’d never know.  I used to say, but that would be hard on us and he used to say that it would be due to our own selfishness.  So be it.  I’m selfish, we’re selfish.  He was loved and he is deeply missed.

but today was good..

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2006 2:44 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. November 27, 2006 4:15 am

    My grandmother passed away a month ago the same way as your dear father. It was a complete shock to all of us. She wished and prayed she would go peacefully, without being a burden. Alhamdulillah for that. We both take comfort in knowing Allah is merciful to grant such a wish. May your father rest in peace. May Allah widen and illuminate his grave. And may he wake up on the Day of Resurrection among the true believers.

  3. November 27, 2006 6:39 pm

    Tasmiya, thank you so much for your words.

    ~hand to heart~

    They are truelly appreciated and may Allah grant all your well wishes and more upon your grandmother as well.

  4. saqinamah permalink
    November 30, 2006 11:12 am

    That sounds like a good Thanksgiving. Many older people that I know also wish exactly the same thing that you mentioned. It also shows how much they love their children.

  5. November 30, 2006 5:26 pm

    saqi – it was good, alhamdullilah.

    You know, my dad died young, 62 is still young. He had just had a physical a month before and everything came out that he was in excellent health. He joked around with us for a month that he was in better shape than us (and he was – he excersised regularly and ate healthy), he went to bed that night having told my mother just an hour before he passed away how he felt so good. That day, he called my mother honey all day (which occasionally, at least once a day he did, but that day every sentence was followed by honey). Allah was merciful.

    However, this wish of his. It’s been his wish ever since I can remember. I was in elementary school and he was saying that his only wish is that god take him in his sleep so that he doesn’t know, that he doesn’t suffer. He’s ready and not afraid to die if it happens tommorow.

    For a long time I could say that I was happy he got his wish, but now I can actually say it and mean it, progress for me.

    Tommorow would have been his birthday. Hopefully I can get over to the cemetary.

Leave a Reply

