Skip to content

Sevdalinka

December 16, 2006
by

Some time back, I wrote a post called 3 girls, Loreena McKennitt, Sevdah and Bjelo Dugme – Talk about a strange mix!.  Somewhere in that post you can find information about Sevdalinke, a type of song that is traditional to Bosnia. 

The video brings back memories of getting dressed up in traditional dress for Eids and once for a fashion show (the night I walked down the run way, got my heel caught inbetween the platforms and fell on my face – and the somewhat happier memory of seeing the guy I ended up marrying, the love of my life, for the first time.  He was surrounded by 10 googly eyed girls and we didn’t talk that night, but it was destiny.)  It also reminds me a bit of Bosnian dating rituals which had at the time I had lived there in some parts remained very traditional. 

This is the translation to the song that is linked above:

Poor poor girl from Mostar City
as long ago as as last year all the way til today
how Biba fell (ill) from love
Pain, (she) endures Celebica Biba (short for Habiba)
Pain, (she) endures, she tells no one

Kceri (short term of endearment for daughter) Bibo, you radiant rose
tell mother what hurts, my heart
My heart and my head hurt
because my Ahmo (short for Ahmed) speaks with another

What Ahmo, water take him (cursing)
because of him you have fallen ill, so young
Dear mother, please don’t curse Ahmo
he told me he would take me (marry) in the fall

5 Comments leave one →
  1. matthew permalink
    December 16, 2006 1:36 pm

    samaha…love it!!!!!!! I looooove traditional music..so it is great to be able to get some Bosnin reccomendations. Great site and great diaries over at eteraz

  2. December 17, 2006 3:01 am

    Lovely and poignant🙂 All the girls in the world have some form of that song, I think.

    Ya Haqq!

  3. December 18, 2006 4:52 am

    Thanks Matthew. I always wondered if it was just a Bosnian thing, but then I thought about all of the international music that I like and thought I’d post some of my own. For me it is nostalgic as well.

    Irving – thank you. I don’t know that we all have some form of that song. Pretty much if my guy was “speaking with another” but promising to take me in the fall, I would have been like, yeah, Ciao, dude. Okay, correction – I do remember my husband made two dates on our first date and he lost the models number so we did go out – since I told my parents that I was going on a date with him, I went to not have to deal with the embarassment. Destiny.

    However, for Bosnians it does seem like some sort of right of passage – you need to have that one devestation in life.

  4. December 28, 2006 3:45 am

    I listened to the song and it was great, nice images too. Allah brought you low, by falling on your face, and then caused you to meet the love of your life. I call that perfect timing🙂

    Ya Haqq!

  5. January 3, 2007 4:40 pm

    Well, I guess falling on my face is now a more pleasant thought🙂

Leave a Reply

