Skip to content

Law and Order

January 10, 2007
by

This past weekend through AMAL’s list serve I received the link to a very interesting article, it is a Chicago Tribune exclusive which publishes a 6,300-word letter testimony of Osama Moustafa Hassan Nasr, also known as Abu Omar.

“This is how they kidnapped me from Italy … and how they tortured and imprisoned me in Egypt

I / Osama Moustafa Hassan Nasr known by the name “Abu Omar” the kidnapped Islamist off the Italian streets of Milan on 17-02-03 by U.S. intelligence agents as well as agents of other countries and the currently imprisoned in the Torah reception jail in Cairo.

I record my testimony from within my tomb and gravesite: and my body has weakened and my mind has become distracted and my illnesses have increased and the signs of my death and termination have appeared.

I record my testimony from within my tomb and gravesite: and my facial features have been altered by the screams of the tortured and the sounds of the whips and the hell of the jail cells.

I record my testimony from within my tomb and gravesite: and I am powerless to do anything other than give the highest thanks and loyalty and appreciation to all who have lit a candle light of hope on the road leading to the uncovering of the mystery of my kidnapping from Italy and my imprisonment and torture in Egypt.”

You can also view the whole letter here.

I’ve never been a terrorist sympathizer and I’m not going to tell you that this man was innocent, and to tell you the truth I don’t know that he was guilty.  I know not of the details of this man and this post is not intended to debate his innocence or guilt.

This is about our involvement in acts that are horrific (to say the least) are against the Geneva Conventions and numerous other international laws.  This is about our role in being the world’s policeman, to which I even have no qualms with except for in the manner that we are conducting ourselves, what seems to be police brutality.  It is about our reputation.  It is about me taking my country back.  This is not the America I know.

Extraordinary rendition, Guantanamo, Abu Ghraib and similar atrocities are making a mockery of the very basics of what our red, white and blue stands for. 

When we engaged in this war on terror, we engaged in something far more dangerous than terror.  We engaged in the diminishing of our civil liberties by our very own government without the slightest sigh of contempt.  It is at that point that we lost our freedom, the will to fight for that freedom and we gave Osama Bin Laden and the likes an immediate victory.

Beyond losing our own freedoms, how can we expect after imposing our war on terror, our law and order upon the lands of other countries like Italy that any country would take our foreign policy seriously?  How can we expect the EU, China and Russia to take our side when it comes to Iran and it’s nuclear program, especially with the Middle East being in their backyard?  How can we expect any countries to ever again volunteer their troops?

Give me back my country!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2007 3:24 am

    Your passionate post speaks for all of us who have had our country kidnapped by neocon madmen who abused the Constitution in the name of freedom, and imposed torture, kidnapping, and probably worse abuses in our name. Inshallah, in 2008 the scum will be voted out of office, and the country will be far better off.

    Ya Haqq!

  2. January 12, 2007 3:53 pm

    Ameen and Inshallah!

  3. November 27, 2007 4:19 pm

    What worries me is that even when the Bush administration leaves office by operation of law, will things really change? Notably, none of the presidential candidates are talking about extraordinary rendition. Why? Will the status quo continue? Are the candidates afraid of being labeled as soft on terror?

    “President Bush has repeatedly defended the policies in the war on terror, saying as recently as last week that the U.S. does not engage in torture.”

    Did you see this quote recently? What a bunch of semantic b.s. If you send a suspect to a country that you know or should know will torture your suspect, then you are by more than simple assocation engaging in the act of torture.

Trackbacks

  1. Abu Omar Released « Samaha

Leave a Reply

