Skip to content

An Apology To My Daughters

January 29, 2007
by

To the daughters that I turned my back to, the 15 daughters that died in March of 2002 a horrific death in the face of flames, in the name of a man-made Islam, to the three daughters Allah had gifted me, to all of my daughters reading this, and no I will not call you my sisters, as sisters grow up and we let them be women, daughters remain daughters forever under their mother’s protection, my dear daughters I apologize to you.

I apologize for not standing up sooner.  I apologize for sugar coating it.  I apologize for being sensitive to you and our culture.  I apologize for being complacent to a man-made Islam.  You deserved better of me.

We turned our back to Averroes and embraced Al-Ghazali.  We suffocated when we closed that door as a window never opened.  We have allowed ourselves to be taken back in time, back to the days prior to the Quran, prior to the prophet Muhamed, prior to Aisha.  We have bid farewell to the likes of Fatimah bint Qais who argued with Umar and Aisha over a legal point and refused to change her opinion.  We have shamed Umm al-Darda who was considered to be superior to all of the other traditionalists of the period including masters of hadith such as al-Hasan al-Basri and Ibin Sirin.  Mostly Allah, we have through our own fear of an unmerciful Allah, a fear of change and of man failed you, failed Islam.

If these words:

“Our society allows no scope for the development of women’s talents. They seem to be destined exclusively to childbirth and the care of children, and this state of servility has destroyed their capacity for larger matters. It is thus that we see no women endowed with moral virtues; they live their lives like vegetables, devoting themselves to their husbands. From this stems the misery that pervades our cities, for women outnumber men by more than double and cannot procure the necessities of life by their own labors.” – Averroes

Made me feel worthless then, today they shame me as I haven’t made many changes since.

No longer can I watch another daughter die because of a literal translation.  No longer can I just sign these petitions calling for an end to stoning or pleading for a female life that killed in self-defense.  No longer can Islam afford one literal translation while analyzing the rest.  Allah gave me freedoms and rights and man took them away while I aided and abetted.  No longer can I can I stay quiet.

Today, my dear daughters I promise to demand of you what you are afraid to demand of yourselves.  I demand of you to realize your self-worth.  I demand of you nothing less than to know that you are equal with your counterpart.  I demand of you to analyze and reanalyze your choices.  I demand this of you my dear daughters out of love for you.  You, my dear daughters are the future of Islam.
 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2007 5:16 pm

    Blimey! How many ‘ave ye got then woman? I’ve enough trouble keeping tabs on the three bickering little jezebels that trounce around my house thinking they’re Lord God Almighty (and on MY bloody money, I’ll ‘ave you know!). Sounds like you’ve got your hands full and no mistake!

    P’raps it’s they should be apologising to you? If I know kids, it’ll be them getting under your feet when you’re trying to get the dinner on, no doubt … hardly fodder for you to go apologisin’ over, so take it easy on y’self love.

    I recommend giving ’em a clout – show ’em who’s boss.

  2. January 29, 2007 6:13 pm

    Yeah, it sure does seem like a whole lot of em, doesn’t it. This could get all expensive and all.

    I have been rather hard on them at another site though, and in all honesty it has been out of concern for them.

  3. January 30, 2007 2:10 am

    So you know what to do love … sit back and take it easy on y’self! ‘Bout time you females appreciated y’self for once … human race’d fall apart without ye.

  4. January 30, 2007 3:59 am

    Thanks for reminding us for that shameful event, Samaha. We must never forget that. It was awful and shameful.

  5. February 1, 2007 5:04 am

    A heartbreaking incident in the Saudi nightmare. May Allah bless your intention, dear Sister. Under the yoke of Male religion, women and girls always suffer most.

    Ya Haqq!

Leave a Reply

