Skip to content

Women’s Rights Project

February 4, 2007
by

Currently, I am working on a project in which I am hoping to draw attention to the suffering of women’s rights within the Islamic community.  At this moment, I am putting together a letter for distribution among Muslim Imams, scholars and leaders calling for reflection in regards to our status and for actions to be taken.  I am also hoping to have endorsement of this project before the letter/emails go out.

It is my intention and hope to see some progress prior to March 11, 2007 as it will be 5 years since the 15 girls had burned to death in Saudi Arabia.  I would like to take this project a step further and ask all of you to in some way remember these 15 girls and reflect upon the incident.  I ask not that you write about these girls, I ask that you reflect.  I ask that you in some way focus upon the injustices commited upon Muslim women by their fellow Muslims and I ask you to commit yourself to making a change in this regard.

Am I asking for too much?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2007 3:33 am

    I love the new layout and your project. Am very excited! Way to go, Samaha!

    You are not asking for too much and many people are thinking about those girls. Inshallah, your project should bring about positive changes.

  2. February 5, 2007 4:12 pm

    Thank you Suroor! The picture on the header is from the Gazi Husrefbeg’s mosque front entrance/porch. I like this layout much better, too. Although, for some reason, it looks a little crazy on my screen, but it looks normal on my husband’s computer.

    As for the project, Inshallah, something good will come of it. We need to see some positive change. I will keep you updated.

  3. Leibniz permalink
    February 8, 2007 9:48 pm

    OK, sister I have marked my calender

Trackbacks

  1. Give me death before burkas: Another gulp! « Achelois
  2. ArabComment » The Next Great War… With the Burqa

Leave a Reply

