Skip to content

Srebrenica Memorial Background Post

July 10, 2007
by

It’s been a long couple of weeks, my email box full of attachments and links related to Srebrenica.  My post to Alma Ferovic’s Srebrenica video has been one of the top posts in this blog regularly this month.  My stats keep leading me to Bosnian forums and chatrooms with links to the post.

Reminders of Srebrenica, I do not need.  The images of the world standing by and doing nothing are forever burned into my mind.  The mere thought of Srebrenica and my heart literally aches.

I’ll always remember Srebrenica.  I’ll always remember the Bosnian war and the horrors that I watched daily on the television.  I’ll always remember the hopelessness of not being able to do anything beyond protests and writting out checks that went towards humanitarian aide.  I’ll always remember the guilt that I felt being safe and secure while friends and family suffered god knows what horrors.

That’s me though, that’s normal.  I’ve stated that I’m American by birth and Bosnian by blood but I’m more than just Bosnian by blood .. I’m Bosnian by nature.   Those of you that regularly visit however are not Bosnian and I have been racking my brain for the past week wondering what I would write on Srebrenica.  I never really could think of what to write.  I considered asking my fellow bloggers to commemorate July 11, 2007 with their own post to the Srebrenica massacre so that I could compile a list of articles so that my recent Bosnian visitors would know that while we forgot them one too many times, that we would not forget them again.  However, the idea came too late and attempting such at such a late hour would surely bring disappointment.  It was today upon my Srebrenica search in which I thought to link you to a blog that I feel documents the Srebrenica massacre with detail and credible sources that I ran accross a name.  I ran accross a name that I recognized.  That same name had a picture alongside it and I wasn’t certain.  It couldn’t be.  Could it? 

Hasan Nuhanovic.  Hasko!  Gone are the long locks he sported back in 1987 but sure enough, it is Hasko.  Hasko, as we called him in our youth was part of the group that I hung with during one of my last visits to Bosnia before the war.  We often, the group of us, used to hang out at cafe “Hit” and the hotel “Panorama” restaurant in Vlasenica.  It was one of the best summers I had spent there and one of the hardest to remember. 

It was that year that we were seeing off the guys of our group to the army.  Near every weekend there was a party for one as he headed off for mandatory service.  After that the group was just not the same and I would marry shortly after.  Only to return again to Vlasenica to make a short pitstop last summer to see my grandmother’s home and to experience first hand serb hostility.  Gone was the warmth that Vlasenica once radiated.  Gone were the familiar happy faces that once passed.  Somehow the town was replaced by a stone cold silence.  The faces matched the gloomy day upon which we had arrived and not a one recognizable.

Hasko’s story is in a post of it’s own, you can find it here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2007 3:54 am

    Hi, I am in touch with Hasan from time to time. Last time he emailed me he told me they found remains of his father. I was very sad to hear that, but at the same time I was glad that this would at least bring some closure to horrible events he experienced. Hasan is a very nice person and he is working hard against Srebrenica genocide denial. All the best.

    – Daniel

  2. July 11, 2007 3:58 am

    I want to say that this is a very good blog. Today is 12th anniversary of Srebrenica Genocide. I am glad you remembered it.

    – Daniel

  3. July 11, 2007 5:46 pm

    Daniel,

    It is very sad to hear and I agree that it is good that he can have some closure now. I’ve noticed from a few sites that he is active in terms of the Srebrenica massacre and informing the public.

    Please send my selams to Hasan and his wife and child/ren next time you email him. Samaha is not my real name – but he may know if you tell him Chicago sends her selams. I don’t think he knew too many people from Chicago before the war.

    Thanks about the blog, although these days it is hard to find the time for blogging that I used to have. I just couldn’t let this week go by without a post for Srebrenica.

    I have found myself on your blog quite often when looking into Srebrenica information and I have to say that it is quite amazing and a great resource. Your sources are unbiased and credible which is a must for me when researching or quoting (moreso when debating than on my own blog). I truelly appreciate all of the hard work you must have put into it.

Trackbacks

  1. Srebrenica: Hasko’s Story « Samaha

Leave a Reply

