Skip to content

Okay .. So I Said I’d Post About What I’ve Been Up To

December 27, 2007
by

And while I would have rather have left this post for another day when I had more time .. I let the cat out of the bag in a comment at another post today.

A few months back I wrote a post titled ISNA: Invasion of the Deaniacs and the post recieved quite a bit of attention starting with a highlight at Democratic Underground by Madfloridian, Ali Eteraz highlighting it at Huffington Post and Jewcy and through email distribution.

The Council of Islalmic Organizations of Greater Chicago who had much to do with the Taking Back America Rally at the ISNA convention had come to see the post and since then I have been speaking with a few people from the Council.  To make a very long story short .. currently I am the new News Editor for their Crescent publication and am also writting for it (I have no spell check here – so don’t make fun – these are all rough drafts on my blog :p ).  The Council has 50 formal member organizations and the publication has a distribution of 15,000 copies a month.

The discussions I have been having with people at The Council have been truly inspiring and I so very much appreciate the support of the Chicago community in regards to this blog and their appreciation for my writting.  As I had said in my earlier comment .. I don’t feel that I represent the majority of Muslims (I also don’t think there is a person out there that can make this claim) but I think it says a lot about our Muslim community in Chicago to come to me with support and encouragement.  Considering how critical I can be and how much I am told that people like me are few and far between .. well, I guess we’re not that afterall.

So – I’d like to take this opportunity to thank The Council and thank you to all of you – Muslims and non-Muslims alike who have given me support and encouragement in keeping this blog going.  Additionally, another thank you to the people at The Greater Chicago Caucus!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2008 3:04 am

    You truly deserve it, dear Sister🙂 I am very happy for you🙂

    Ya Haqq!

  2. January 2, 2008 8:28 pm

    Thank you Irving🙂

Leave a Reply

