Skip to content

Note To My Brothers

April 8, 2008
by

Dear Brother,

I just wanted to quickly jot down a few points for your consideration…..

Could you not shake your sister’s hand?

Could you not see your sister’s hair?

Could you not watch your sister eat her meal?

Could you not look your sister in the eye?

Could you deny your sister the same hapiness, contentment, disappointment and struggle of a self-determined life?

Have you spoken to me with the same consideration, the same patience that you would have with your own sister.

How could the same womb would have provided us both with equal love, equal nutrition, equal life and yet you tell me “we are equal but we are different…”.

Please, call me sister but, as you do, ask yourself if you’ve earned to be looked upon as my brother.

Sincerely,

Your Sister Samaha

P.S – Thank you to the brothers that have always made me feel like their sister!  Special thanks to brother Irving who most often comments to me as his sister.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2008 7:04 pm

    I am honored to be your brother, dearest Sister Samaha🙂

    Inshallah, we will meet one day, and I will be doubly honored to look you in the eye as I shake your hand🙂

    May Allah bless you and your family.

    Ya Haqq!

  2. April 16, 2008 6:30 pm

    🙂 Inshallah

Leave a Reply

