Skip to content

Who Said It?

May 29, 2008
by

“Using that as a promotional pitch when so many are dying from the criminal activity of suicide bombers, that’s not funny,” … “I don’t think it’s appropriate when it causes real pain. It exploits or promotes misunderstanding in terms already misunderstood or misused”

Was that Michelle Malkin?  One of the critics of the above commercial?  Nope!  Not even close people!

That statement was made by CAIR’s very own Asma Mobin-Uddin of the Columbus Ohio chapter in regards to a car dealers ad campaign to declare Jihad on prices. 

Hehe – Michelle Malkin and CAIR have something in common afterall!

So, anyway – the Dunkin Donuts ad campaign is being pulled due to statements of critics over the scarf that Racheal Rae is wearing.  By the way – you can click on the above link to vote as to whether or not you find the scarf offensive – so far the poll is 92% are not offended by it.

For the record – I thought it was bullshit that the car dealer cancelled their event and I think this is bullshit as well.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2008 4:39 pm

    For the record – I thought it was bullshit that the car dealer cancelled their event and I think this is bullshit as well.

    Care to elaborate?

    As we know, different symbols, signs, even hand gestures, can mean different things to different people. For example, the “templar” cross on a soccer jersey. I agree with you, btw, that it’s a bunch of b.s., but is there an analogous situation where, perhaps what seems to one person to be a harmless symbol or “fashion statement” could be offensive to another?

    I talked in one of my posts about the Che t-shirts, how they are pretty much, glorifying a killer and if I was easily offended, I would be. I also remember an Indian restaurant that decided to go with a swastika motif… needless to say, that didn’t go over so well with the Jewish community.

    Also, I think that it’s b.s., but I do think that Dunkin’ Donuts did the right thing. Obviously people were getting upset and were offended, there’s no reason not to put out an explanation saying that they didn’t mean to offend.

  2. May 30, 2008 6:46 pm

    As far as the car dealer ad goes – I thought it was petty. From what I could tell – the ad was claiming that you could fit twelve jihadis in a car – so unless the customers are all Muslim – I see it as humor – regular Americans being jihadis – hahaha. The burqas and swords for slashing prices – I mean come on – instead of having a sense of humor we go all nutty – that really helps people feel at ease with Muslims.

    I’m not saying that I support the stereotyping but there has to be a line as to what is acceptable and what isn’t – picking petty little things to complain about – I’ve had it with that (except for when i do it – then it is okay🙂 )

    In regards to this – Racheal Rae and Dunkin Donuts – this is even more petty. Look at the damn scarf. It’s black and white – that’s it. I don’t even think it is checkered – take a good look at the pattern.

    In regards to the Che t-shirts – that’s a little different. It’s not simply a t-shirt – it has a picture of someone on it. So, if Rachael Rae was wearing that t-shirt or a t-shirt with Yaser Arafat – then hell yeah – complain, complain, complain.

    I can’t remember konservo – did BK remove that logo from it’s ice cream and what did you think BK should do?

  3. May 30, 2008 9:40 pm

    The BK case was a bit different because the complainer pretty much threatened the livelihood of the BK employee responsible for the design and he even went so far as to say that he would try to “bring the country down,”:

    I feel humiliated. I want to humiliate the person who did this to an extent that he never works again. I’m going to make him see that it was the biggest mistake in his life. I want to meet the guy. I want to ask the guy, “What does this mean to you?” then never see his face again.

    In a way, I’m glad he did this to me. It has opened my eyes. The fear of God, the love of God, the love of not letting anyone disrespect God. Even though it means nothing to some people and may mean nothing to some Muslims in this country, this is my jihad. I’m not going to rest until I find the person who is responsible. I’m going to bring this country down.

    link

    Now, my gut instinct is to tell the guy to go f’ himself, and if people were threating to make Rachel Rae know that it was “the biggest mistake” of her life, then I’d feel the same way. If the guy would have just written a normal blog post or interview without all of the crazy, then maybe I’d feel differently.

    My original post, btw, was to say how trivial the BK ice-cream and the soccer jerseys were, especially when people are casually walking around with pics of Marxist militants on their shirts.

    But yes, it’s petty. It’s just different groups trying to score points over the others. Now this has turned into a stupid Right v. Left thing… Olbermann has declared a boycott of DD and Right wing blogs have said that they should be supported.

    I probably wasn’t going to go to a DD anytime in the near future anyway, so I don’t really care… if it weren’t sad, it’d be funny… okay, it’s still a little funny😆

  4. May 30, 2008 9:52 pm

    Heehee:

    Keffiyeh kerfuffle hits Bondi bottleshop

    “A Palestinian customer came up and asked me if I’m wearing this scarf as a fashion statement or for political reasons.

    “I had no idea what he was talking about because I don’t follow politics at all. I just laughed it off.

    “Two days later he called and complained about it.”

    Shevonne Hunt, a freelance journalist who has reported on the keffiyeh’s popularity in Australia, said many Palestinians were annoyed the widespread use of the keffiyeh for fashion had watered down its meaning.

    🙄

  5. May 30, 2008 11:13 pm

    That was just nuts (the article you linked to)! This is all going too far.

    Oooooooh – I know a place that employs a person that wears one on his head – I think I’m going to go make a phone call – hehe

Leave a Reply

