Skip to content

Friday is International Wear Your Kaffiyeh Day

June 5, 2008
by

This is a response to the removal of the Dunkin’ Donuts Ad & the derogatory stereotyping of Arabs and their culture.

Okay, I don’t have a kaffiyeh but I do have a pink and brown paisley scarf that may be similar in design to the PAISLEY scarf that Rachael Rae is wearing in her Dunkin Donuts ad.

I’m not a fan of boycotting so .. I’m supporting this particular cause because it is a productive way of delivering a message:

“Response to this incident has been largely negative, with many consumers going so far as to even consider boycotting the popular food chain. However, a more positive approach to combating the false stereotype, initially propagated by a small group of right-wing bloggers, headed by Michelle Malkin, is the launch of International “Wear Your Kaffiyeh with Pride” Day, where participants are asked to wear a kaffiyeh on Friday 6th June. This peaceful form of visual protest aims to remind the World that this cultural icon – much like hats, coats, gloves and shoes – is simply a popular clothing accessory that should not be discriminated against, solely on the basis that it is included in the wardrobes of a particular brand of criminal.”

But this isn’t going up without some sort of nagging on my part.

Why is it that we have to do everything, like yesterday.  I mean – 2 weeks might have given me some time to find a scarf that was black and white paisley with some fringe – but no, we have 5 days from concept to implementation and I’m just finding out about it the day before implementation – yeah like people I am so not in the loop.

Then, don’t even get me started that there is a donut wearing a kaffiyeh, two men with kaffiyeh’s on their neck and two Muslimahs in hijab a headscarves and a kaffiyeh around their neck available for download as an avatar or button for the post.  Okay – where’s the blonde with a kaffiyeh?   Not all Muslim women cover their hair and I believe that the percent of American Muslim women who do not wear it are somewhere at the upper 40 percent range.  So my regular Equality Project avatar is staying up .. in protest .. maybe I’ll change up the color of it or something .. oh wait .. I don’t have my photoshop file on this computer .. okay .. just the regular avatar .. cuz I’m not posting a pic of myself either.

Otherwise, it is a wonderful idea.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2008 11:46 am

    I feel the same way about the avatars. I thought, well, at least there’s a donut. But at nearly nine months pregnant, I’d rather be represented by something less round. Plus, all this staring at and talking about donuts has given me a major donut craving.🙂

    I do heart the slogan tho–“Keffiyeh pride. No terrorist inside!” lol.

  2. June 6, 2008 6:34 pm

    Salams, I’m the designer/illustrator who did those graphics.

    My apologies for not being able to cater to everyone’s personal wants. Truth be told, I did all the graphics at the last minute, while working on a full-time job and looking after my pregnant wife.

    Anyway, is there anything wrong with using the graphic with a Hijabi? I believe some non-Muslims are even using those?

    Regards
    Shaik

  3. June 6, 2008 7:12 pm

    Shawna – yeah – I like the slogan too! Ohhhh, yeah – if I were pregnant the donut would really kill me🙂

    Shaik – I said I was nagging – maybe I should have been more clear by saying nitpicking. This is more of a spill over reaction to a debate on what constitutes hijab going on at another blog and wasn’t meant to offend you.

    I completely understand how difficult it is to volunteer time when we have so many things going on in life and I do applaud the time you put into this.

    Thank you for taking the time to stop by and explain.

Leave a Reply

