Skip to content

Snub, Snubbed, Snubbing .. Muslims

June 29, 2008
by

With a whole slew of articles out in the last few weeks about Muslims feeling snubbed by Obama, I’m wondering whether the upcomming 45th Annual ISNA Convention .. this year’s theme is Ramadan: A Time For Change .. will be able to secure any Republicans for a major event.  Last year’s “Take Back America Rally” keynote speakers were Howard Dean,  Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur and Chris Cegelis of the Greater Chicago Caucus – I wrote about it here.   Republicans and Democrats were invited but only Democrats accepted the invitation.  Hmmmmm.

I say invite McCain.  Surely, McCain isn’t going to be snubbing Muslims – not after Obama’s faux pas.

Strategically, I could actually see McCain accepting the invitation.

You know though – I don’t understand why we’re feeling so snubbed by Obama, shouldn’t we be used to this by now .. we’re constantly snub, snubbed, and snubbing each other amongst the Muslim community .. okay, okay .. there’s the whole diversity and unity thing that Obama keeps talkin about – oh wait, where have I heard that before?

Wondering if I’ll be able to attend the next ISNA Convention .. this is so wierd that it won’t be in Chicago :( 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 6, 2008 3:27 pm

    Eww, I hope McCain doesn’t come to ISNA!

    It would be interesting to see how ppl react to him, though. But then some ppl react the same way no matter who’s onstage.

    I may try to make it this year, I hope.

Leave a Reply

