Skip to content

Hussein Watch: Mr. Kyle Hussein de Beausset

July 2, 2008
by

Mr. Kyle Hussein de Beausset of Citizen Orange is still undecided about who he’s going to vote for but in the spirit of acting in defiance of intolerance – he’s decided to adopt the Hussein middle name.

You have got to read his post – here’s a little clip:

These demons win when we see them as a thing of the past. These demons win when we see them only in the minds of others, far away from ourselves. These demons win when we fail to see them as a confluence of sentiments, where fear of Muslims, can turn to fear of migrants, can turn to fear of brown people, can turn to fear of the majority world. Daily we must religiously search our souls for these demons and work hard to find ways to stand against them.

I don’t know what makes me more sad, the fact that Leroy Pollard considers African people, unauthorized migrants, and Muslims as less than worthy humans, or the fact that Barack Obama considers these rumors so damaging to his electability, that he works constantly to distance himself from these categories.

I read the New York Times story but I wasn’t really moved by it – it was an article that basically covered all the bases – wanted to include statements that Obama is Christian the middle name Hussein doesn’t make him Muslim.. and take this for example:

“I am sick of Republicans pronouncing Barack Obama’s name like it was some sort of cuss word,” Mr. Strabone wrote in a manifesto titled “We Are All Hussein” that he posted on his own blog and on dailykos.com.”

but I did just go check out Mr. Strabone’s manifesto and this is what moved me:

“It’s not just people named Hussein who are being insulted by the racist xenophobes among us. It’s everyone who respects human dignity and who values things like courtesy and etiquette. There’s a tradition on the left of identifying with the targets of injustice by saying, I am [those people you hate].”

You find the best stuff in blogs :-)  I’m not saying that the New York Times article was bad journalism because it was excellent journalism, covering all the bases makes it responsible journalism and it left the door open for various people to join the group of Husseinis .. Like Mr. Kyle Hussein de Beausset who was so inspired by this movement that he had to join it whether he was an Obama supporter or not.

So .. here’s to blogs and  (relax folks it’s Turkish coffee) .. to all the passionate people out there that care to make a difference and stand up against intolerance.  You’ve brightened this Muslim’s late night of online courses and cramming for tests :-)

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2008 5:03 am

    Several people at News Hounds have done this as well.

  2. July 3, 2008 6:00 am

    “Turkish coffee”

    I prefer to crunch on coffee beans as I would crunch on peanuts😛 but I’ll drink Turkish coffee if I must.

  3. July 4, 2008 4:25 am

    Sergei – “We watch FOX so you don’t have to.” – lol – I had to go read some of the hate mail over there – too funny!

    Konservo – Wow! I used to keep them in my mouth like candy and eventually break it up into pieces. I don’t think I’ve done that since I was in Bosnia – I haven’t manually ground coffee in quite a while. When I lived with my grandmother for a year – I used to have to roast the coffee and this required use of a long handled can that we’d put into woodburning portion of the stove and I’d sit in front of the stove and turn it back and forth – I loved chewing on warm coffee beans.

Leave a Reply

