Skip to content

Out and About in the Islamosphere and a Global Voice

August 1, 2008
by

Given that I have finished up my summer online coursework, 7 exams, finally obtained my license and will be heading off in a new direction come next week and not knowing whether or not I’ll have the time to blog let alone do any blog hopping – I spent a few days out in the Islamospere.  Admittedly, how could I not since they have been so link loving to Let My Heart Be My Veil.  It’s not that I don’t ever venture out into the Islamosphere but admittedly for over a year now I’ve mostly been a lurker with occasional comments here and there – and some of those ‘occasional’ comments I’m sure had the blog authors and their regular readers whishing I’d just shut up already. 

First, I’d like to thank both TalkIslam.info and Muslimah Media Watch for linking to my review of A Jihad for Love – the post may not have many comments but at least it has exposure from these two wonderful sites – also thank you to all of those that have been emailing the review around (yes, I can figure that out) and while there may be no conversation taking place on my blog – the review has not gone ignored.  I highly recommend both of these sites – so do your thing .. bookmark them, blogroll them, add them to your reader.

Love Jihadi has reposted my review at his own site and come October he’s going to have to post my review about whether he is truelly post-queer.  So, Mr. “I’m so over it” – hope you are up to the challenge.  You’ll just have to visit his site to figure that one out but don’t assume – you know how it goes, when you assume you make an … .

Thank you to Amad at Muslim Matters for his recent post of an old story he wrote during the Bosnian war – The Short Tale of a Bosnian and for his sentiments that went out to me and Hamdi.

Make sure you read this post of Hamdi’s (another Bosnian) who explains the difference between ‘muslim’ and ‘Muslim’ – so spot on – and please everyone encourage him to keep up his blog posts with at least an occasional post🙂

Umar Lee has two posts up related to Bosnia – one on the International Criminal Court (Owen – this one’s for you to get on) and one titled Thank You Bosnian Mujahudeen in which I am being a royal pain in the comments section.

Those of you that have stumbled upon this blog because of ‘ilahije’ which is my number one post of all time – now exceeding 2100 views in almost a years time – please visit Musical Chef’s catalog of Bosnian Musicians and keep an eye on her site as I think she is going to post them more frequently than I do.

A few people over at Global Voices have been referencing my thoughts in regards to Bosnia.  So for those of you that are looking for more blogging voices in regards to this region – Global Voices is rich in links for you (I found the Yakima Gulag Literary Gazette here)- please check out Global Voices’ Bosnia Hercegovina Region.  I’d like to thank Veronica Khokhlova and Elia Varela Serra who both frequently link to my blog.

I guess this sounds like the death of Let My Heart Be My Veil but it’s not.  I’m not quite sure how often I will be able to post – maybe I’ll be able to post even more during lunch hours but I think the time for actually commenting on comments and visiting other blogs is going to suffer if the past month is any sign of what to expect, plus I am going back and putting effort into The Equality Project once again (I could use some help – hellloooooo anyone out there that has time to devote to this let me know).

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Owen permalink*
    August 2, 2008 12:12 pm

    Let’s see how much self-discipline you’re able to muster!

  2. August 3, 2008 8:11 am

    I hope you will continue to blog regardless🙂

    And thanks for the great blog recommendations, now I have some more hopping to do…

  3. August 3, 2008 9:03 pm

    Will you soon be letting us know what this “new direction” is? good luck with it and congrats on finishing the exams!

  4. LDU permalink
    August 19, 2008 11:06 am

    I just came across your comments on UL’s blog. You seem to be preoccupied with Bosnians growing a beard or wearing the Niqab.

    How will you react if these were done solely because the men wanted to grow a beard and the women wanted to wear the niqab without any, as you claim, financial endorsement?

  5. August 19, 2008 6:07 pm

    Preoccupied? Hardly. Irritated with the prostelytizing of foreigners with the claim that this is what Islam really is and my way or the highway .. you got it buddy.

    As for how I would feel about these things being done solely because people chose this – it is their right and I’ll even fight for their rights. However, the issue here is that there were mujahideen that stayed for the greater jihad of straightening out the Bosnian Muslims – and that is where the problem is – in order for us to be the “pious” Muslims we have to give up our own identity – our own traditions and cultural aspects – sorry but that’s a no go for me.

    When are we going to start being accepting of each other whatever our backgrounds and traditions may be?

  6. LDU permalink
    August 20, 2008 12:33 pm

    In my opinion, when Islam was adopted by different cultures it became like a supermarket, people took from Islam what they wanted, left what they didn’t want, and mixed their culture with it.

    I don’t think Islam is necessary accepting of this, as I have read of the Prophet cursing culture and tribalism three times over. We should also note that Islam was radically different to the pagan culture it was sent to and that’s why it faced such stiff opposition initially.

    And I think this is why, I believe, the Bosnian Mujahideen – according to your narrative, aren’t too accepting of Bosnia’s Muslim culture.

    A Bosnian Muslim may feel they’re a good Muslim where they pray once in a while, drink, gamble and engage in premarital relations whereas an Arab Muslim may see this as being very non Muslim like – and as you’ve pointed this is where the clash lies.

  7. August 20, 2008 2:59 pm

    “A Bosnian Muslim may feel they’re a good Muslim where they pray once in a while, drink, gamble and engage in premarital relations whereas an Arab Muslim may see this as being very non Muslim like – and as you’ve pointed this is where the clash lies.”

    No – this is not where the clash lies. The clash lies where even Bosnian Muslims who are praying 5 times a day and aren’t drinking or gambling or engaging in premarital relations are under attack because they choose to have tevhids for their dead, partake in Mevluds (singing Nasheeds) and choose to have the Imam recitite Hatma and Yasin for thier deceased loved ones – where simply covering the hair is not good enough but niqab is the way to go – where a woman’s voice should not be heard by males, let alone her presence be in mixed company.

    I have a link over at UL’s that links to an Ilahija in which comments are attacking the recitation of a nasheed by a woman for the reasons above. There is another propoganda piece that I have posted here as well in the Bosnian language called – The veil a critique in which anti-western sentiments are quite apparent – this is not the Muslims that we are.

    Regardless – in regards to Bosnian Mujahideen it is not too comforting to know that many of them thought that what happened to us was something that we deserved because we weren’t even Muslim. My god – what has the Middle East done to deserve the havoc that they have been enduring for centuries on end – does this really make any sense? And – btw – this is a sentiment that Bosnians deserved this that ordinary Muslims here in the US are not shy in relating to us.

    I’m reminded of an argument that a commentor on my blog and I were having – I think I’ll make a new post for discussion on this subject so that I don’t get too involved here.

  8. LDU permalink
    August 21, 2008 2:18 am

    Well it’s still the same formula. I assume the Tehvids (I’m assuming that’s some sort of a funeral procession?) and the Mevlud singers are seen by the mujahideen as being wrong or what have you – it’s still a clash between what they see as being good Muslims and what Bosnians see as being good Muslims.

    We may call it the Arabianising of Bosnian Islam or whatever name we want to put on it, but in my opinion it comes down to a clash of believing how Islam should be performed or what makes a good Muslim.

Leave a Reply

