Skip to content

Obama’s Speech – Pass or Fail?

August 29, 2008
by

I agree with the tribs analysis but I think I would take it farther and say that there are a few groups out (me being part of one) that aren’t feeling part of the fold.  I guess lately, even I have been feeling like an outsider.  I never used to feel this way and I watched last night in hopes of hearing something that was going to give me some hope.

It wasn’t there but still ..

Obama 08

4 Comments leave one →
  1. chintanfezdesai permalink
    August 29, 2008 4:18 pm

    you still don’t have hope after that? how? why?

  2. August 29, 2008 11:13 pm

    Good to see you back posting.

    I saw Obama’s speech and would give him top marks for giving a good speech that was the right speech to give.

    I know McCain just did another senior moment – the choice of Palin is going to come back and bite him.

  3. August 29, 2008 11:53 pm

    chintanfezdesai – hmmm, well .. because it was early Obama combined with new Obama on hype mode. Nothing new, nothing defining enough – I’m with those that say that Obama needs to get back to the roots of the whole change movement and while he did that with the whole early Obama (the one the nation has been watching) he failed in the sense that he remained too vague leaving so much open to backtracking (again). So, I have to believe that Obama is going to do and say what he thinks everyone wants to hear but the problem there is that it is going to leave a four year play it safe term if he wants another term – meaning it will be at least four and a half years before any major changes take place .. or he’s in it just for the office and we won’t see any change. I know .. I know .. change doesn’t take place overnight and ANYTHING is better than 90+% Bush – as k puts it McSame ..

    Still the whole point here is that you can’t please all of the people all of the time and I’m just being one of those can’t please people today.

    Haleem – Obama’s got more in him than what he gave out that night and what he’s been giving out since Hillary has dropped out of the race – this was a play it safe speech with a bit more attack mode on the current administration and McCain.

    I don’t know about the Palin thing – for the moment it was pretty clever but we’ll see.

    I think this was a freak moment of spare time .. not sure how often I’ll be able to post.

  4. September 1, 2008 6:45 am

    Samaha,

    I do hope that you’re not too distraught over this… I know that many people see Obama as a radically new type of politician and he may very well be, however, the way the U.S. government works he will be limited by the system and the processes that are built into it. I think those people are setting themselves up for a big disappointment. For me, both candidates are McSame, and I always feel like an outsider (I don’t even have a religious group to identify with). I know that won’t make you feel any better, but, I do hope that we all remember that, whoever wins, we’re all united by the fact that we’re Americans or we live in America, in other words, we’re all on the same team.

Leave a Reply

