Skip to content

Parvez on “Whiteness” at Huffpo

September 24, 2008
by

Parvez Sharma, the love jihadi, writes an interesting article at Huffington Post called “The Unbearable Whiteness of Being”.

“When I first arrived here in 2000, I dabbled for a brief minute in academia and the words of sociologist Steven Seidman made a great deal of sense. He made the argument, which I am helpfully able to retrieve easily from Wikipedia, that “White culture constitutes the general cultural mainstream, causing non-White culture to be seen as deviant, in either a positive or negative manner. Moreover, Whites tend to be disproportionately represented in powerful positions, controlling almost all political, economic and cultural institutions.” Seidman also makes the argument that for the most part “Whites” are unaware of their privilege and the fact that “White” culture and all that that encompasses has always been the dominant force in the United States. Growing up in India, one of the most bitterly defined and divided by class, caste, religion (and yes, colour of skin) societies-the condition of Indian-ness for me did always include one uniform skin color and that was brown. Now brown, much like anything else comes in different hues. My mother always said that I was blessed with very ‘fair skin’. I rebelled and wanted to be darker much to her consternation, and she even procured a popular skin bleaching cream called ‘Fair and Lovely’ for me. My obsession with darker skin tone continues, as much to the reasonable despair of my very-White partner (he fears melanoma) I spend time on the sun soaked beaches of the free world without using any “protection”.”

~sigh~ here I go again feeling left out!

If blonde hair and freckles constituted whiteness .. i’d so be in but I think I’d add to the definition of “American” whiteness as including the acknowledgement of Christ in a non-Islamic fashion or at least denying your heritage that insists it.

Cuz, let me tell you with Eid around the corner, I’m very aware of all privaleges being lost once I put in a request to take eid off for work, school, etc.   More to the topic of Parvez’s post .. I may be white but believe me, as a Muslim .. I sure as hell am not going to be neither McCain’s nor Obama’s Muslim outreach co-ordinator (not that I have some sort of slander wish).

But .. go read the article – it’s really good!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2008 4:37 pm

    He made the argument, which I am helpfully able to retrieve easily from Wikipedia, that “White culture constitutes the general cultural mainstream, causing non-White culture to be seen as deviant, in either a positive or negative manner. Moreover, Whites tend to be disproportionately represented in powerful positions, controlling almost all political, economic and cultural institutions.”

    Uh… that’s called Marxist sociology. It’s the same brand to which Rev. Wright subscribes. While there might be examples that seem to corroborate Marxism of various forms, such as Liberation Theology and Radical Feminism[1], one has to be a Marxist ideologue to think this is how the world really works. People can not always be grouped together on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, etc.

    Also, from the article:

    Obama’s screen-shots always seem to include people of other varying colours and McCain and Palin always seem to be surrounded by Whites.

    This is because, as we all know, Obama’s team carefully selects who is permitted to be seen in the proximity of Mr. Obama. McCain/Palin, I can assure you, don’t care about that sort of thing nearly as much as Mr. Obama. It’s just not an issue.

    [1] even though there is a brand of “Marxist Feminism,” most of the extreme brands of Feminism are in one way or another Marxist (and when I say feminism, I’m not talking about believing that everyone is equal and should be treated with respect as long as he or she is not hurting anyone)

  2. October 3, 2008 3:55 pm

    “Uh… that’s called Marxist sociology. It’s the same brand to which Rev. Wright subscribes. While there might be examples that seem to corroborate Marxism of various forms, such as Liberation Theology and Radical Feminism[1], one has to be a Marxist ideologue to think this is how the world really works. People can not always be grouped together on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, etc.”

    I don’t think it’s as simple as having to be a Marxist ideologue to think this is how the world really works. The statements made are not necessarilly totally off the wall here. We do have problems in regards to racism within this country and while you may not see this whole ‘white power’ mass movement – I’m quite surprised at times by what I hear from people – it really baffles my mind.

    As for Obama’s team carefully selecting who sits behind him – one has to take into consideration the history of this country in regards to race equality – it’s not that far back that Martin Luther King and Malcom X were fighting for civil rights and we’re far from seeing racism gone from our society. Then take into consideration the smears that Obama is Muslim – let’s face it McCain does not face the same challenges.

    Oh – and while it would most likely benefit McCain’s camp to select the audience – he doesn’t – because he just doesn’t have to – that alone says something about the reality of what whiteness is. However, I agree with you that it goes beyond race .. there are still certain conditions to one’s whiteness. Let’s say we had a secular Jew that was in McCain’s place … besides Obama handing over all of the occupied territiories to Israel during an AIPAC speech .. how do you think that race would go?

  3. October 4, 2008 4:33 am

    Oh – and while it would most likely benefit McCain’s camp to select the audience – he doesn’t – because he just doesn’t have to – that alone says something about the reality of what whiteness is.

    Neither does Obama. The point is that, it shouldn’t matter the race/sex/religion of a politician’s supporters. All that really matters is what his or her ideas and plans are for the country. Obama is constantly thinking about his physical image, let’s face it, he’s arrogant. While McCain on the other hand is simply not concerned with being seen in a diverse crowd. Further, did you see the photoshop of McCain taken by that photographer from the Atlantic? McCain let’s that type of thing go, whereas Obama preemptively goes on the defensive thinking that McCain will say “Obama doesn’t look like the other presidents” or some such nonsense.

    I’m 1/4 Ukrainian 1/4 Latvian 1/4 English and 1/4 Irish, but to me, I’m just American. I don’t see “whiteness” as part of my identity and if other do, that’s their problem. I’m going to make decisions based on my own reasoning, not because of other people with the same color skin.

    Also, I’ve said in the past, and I still believe, saying that Obama is Muslim is not a “smear.” It’s simple not true. For it to be a smear would mean that one thinks there is something wrong about being Muslim, which I don’t.

    Finally, I don’t understand what you are saying with the secular Jew thing? Are you saying “what if Obama was running against a Jew?”

    If so, I think it’d be pretty much the same. I know democrats who were hoping for a McCain/Lieberman ticket. But at the same time, I see on Think Progress and other left-wing blogs that many democrats don’t like Lieberman.

  4. October 4, 2008 2:34 pm

    Of course race/sex/religion SHOULDN’T matter but unfortunately they do matter to many people. It’s sad, it’s sick but it is the reality. I mean we’ve been asking the question is race going to be an issue – is gender going to be an issue since last year. Hillary wasn’t shy about using both to her advantage. I’m sure Obama’s campaign has carefully researched what sort of diversity Obama needs.

    Obama = Muslim stands as more than just a lie because then their is the underlying question of why would Obama lie. All of this feeds the Islamophobic traditions of comming up with Taqiya conspiracies to apostacy conspiracies to Muslims want to take over the world. Yes, it started off as Obama is Muslim but only because Obama denying being Muslim naturally brings on the rest of the crap – so it’s intent is to smear – not only Obama but Muslims.

    The point is that Republicans are never going to nominate someone that is Jewish or Muslim or Hindu or Bhudist or Atheist or Secular Christian for that matter as Presidential nominee. I mean McCain wasn’t Christian enough. Which is my whole point – it’s not just about being white – it’s about what brand of white you are. In reality none of it is about the color of your skin – I’ll go post the rest of this over at parvez’s article if you want to continue there.

  5. October 14, 2008 9:47 am

    Занимаюсь дизайном и хочу попросить автора samaha.wordpress.com отправить шаьлончик на мой мыил) Готов заплатить…

Leave a Reply

