Skip to content

Uh Oh, They’ll Be Calling Me A Blashpemor

October 16, 2008
by

I’ve recently received many emails of support and encouragement in regards to my blog and rest assured everyone even in the face of “strong opposition” I’m fine .. I just really do not have the time to post on my own blog let alone comment at other sites as I once used to and quite honestly I’m really not interested in mothering others with lectures of adhab nor do the offending comments deserve a reply.  Also, I kind of feel sorry for the commentors as such attacks are a sure sign of needing to condemn others in order to feel better about themselves .. have I shaken your deen that much my sisters?  For that I’m sorry .. it was not my intention.

Still, I was brought back to a discussion through one of the emails I received that I thought I’d bring this up here .. (Yo Sam are you anywhere to be found .. here’s one where you can nod your head and post messages of approval as well – come on join the fun, man!)

So here’s the thing ..

Are we all agnostic?

Main Entry: ag·nos·tic 
Pronunciation: \ag-ˈnäs-tik, əg-\
Function: noun
Etymology: Greek agnōstos unknown, unknowable, from a- + gnōstos known, from gignōskein to know — more at know
Date: 1869
1: a person who holds the view that any ultimate reality (as God) is unknown and probably unknowable ; broadly : one who is not committed to believing in either the existence or the nonexistence of God or a god
2: a person unwilling to commit to an opinion about something <political agnostics>

Can I be an agnostic Muslim?

Could I consider myself an agnostic Muslim because I acknowledge that scientifically God is unknown in that we have not proven that God exists nor have we proven that he does not exist but I am commited to believing in the existence of god and I am a practicing Muslim.  I can tell you that God’s presence is a part of my soul and my heart but I can not scientifically prove that; that is faith.

Furthermore, actually stating that I am an agnostic Muslim allows me to question my faith from a different perspective, it allows me to pursue knowledge beyond the explanation of “just because” and “some things just are, we don’t question everything” and “faith goes beyond reason” excuses.  I have always found Islam to be compatible with reason and reasoning skills and my religion has always encouraged knowledge.  Unfortunately I don’t always have the same luck with Muslims aka human beings or atheists aka human beings or etc. but my faith doesn’t revolve around humans, my faith revolves around God.

In reallity, I already consider myself an agnostic Muslim, I’m just wondering if there’s a good objection to it – go ahead reason with me people but spare me the just because that’s the way it is stuff.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2008 3:08 am

    All I can say is, Hmm….

  2. Pepe permalink
    October 16, 2008 9:24 am

    its like “islamic feminism” you need to explain what you mean. because a lot of people define Agnostic as a person who believes in god but no religion explain it well enough for them.

    But the question is what about the clash between revelation vs philosophy?

  3. hamdy permalink
    October 18, 2008 9:20 pm

    You are a commited believer in God, that disqualifies you from being an agnostic, no? Because the term isn’t limited to meaning that one feels that science cannot prove His existence, an agnostic is neutral to the possibility that He exists. The term cannot be applied to someone who actually believes in God by definition.

  4. Philip permalink
    October 22, 2008 11:41 pm

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agnosticism

    ^ one thing that they all seem to share is that Agnosticism seems to suggest that we don’t/can’t know the ‘properties’ of god. Which would seem to cause a major problem with a muslim.

  5. January 6, 2009 10:13 pm

    “I have always found Islam to be compatible with reason and reasoning skills”.

    So have I. Having definite ideas about God, like Islam teaches, doesn’t exclude reason. In my opinion, Islam has proven this for around 1400 years, and Christianity for around 2000.

    But I think I agree with Philip that it’s difficult to reconcile agnosticism and theism.

    Personally, I consider myself an atheist, but I agree with agnosticism that we can’t really know anything about God. However, I am convinced beyond any reasonable doubt that no God exists.

Leave a Reply

