Skip to content

Ilahije

August 4, 2007
by

Update: It seems as though “righteous Muslims” seem to have a problem with this Ilahija .. from woman singing in front of man, to woman singing, to music playing see here.   

Ilahije are a form of Bosnian spiritual recitation and the more modernized version is actually spiritual music.  I may get blasted here for saying that it is music but the example I am posting to this blog is sung (and not the nasaly recitation that once were common to ilahije – and I’m not complaining – I really do like this).

As a teenager I would regularly partake in mevluds at the mosque and so I have a certain appreciation and love for ilahije.  A mevlud is a program which consists of ilahije, poems and quranic recitations.

I’ll post the translation at the end.

Enjoy:

Translation:

Don’t grieve with tears
Instead remember with duas (prayers)
Don’t let a tear start when you wake the memories
Don’t let a tear start when you wake the memories

Don’t grieve, my father, when you see my gravestone
Don’t let a tear start when you remember me, my father
Don’t let a tear start when you remember me, my father

Don’t grieve with tears
Instead remember with duas (prayers)
Don’t let a tear start when you wake the memories
Don’t let a tear start when you wake the memories

Like the heart begins to fly
In Nur (the light) I completely ignite
(He)Stops by the gate
Ridvan, the keeper of the garden

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Sruli permalink
    August 9, 2007 2:41 am

    B”H

    Dear Samaha,

    I stumbled across your blog by accident (trying to find the origins of the surname Ansari). I must say, you are an amazing and beautiful person. I don’t usually read blogs, but I have a feeling I’m going to check yours often.

    All the best,
    Sruli

  2. August 9, 2007 12:42 pm

    Salaams Samaha,

    Ma sha Allah. A very nice ilahi. Allah!

    I love Bosnian ilahije. Please post some more. With your permission, I’d like to post this on my own blog.

    Abdur Rahman

  3. August 9, 2007 1:18 pm

    Sruli, thank you (although I’m not so sure about the amazing part). I hope to see you here often.

    Abdur Rahman, they are so beautiful. Please feel free to post it on your blog. I will definately post some more ilahiye looking for some traditional ones. If you look at my blogroll you will see BOSNA MUSLIM – MEDIA and they have quite a few on theirs as well.

  4. Arnela permalink
    September 20, 2007 6:15 pm

    This is so beautiful. It arose so many emotions in me. I listen to Ilahije but not as often as I should. They are so pure…
    It was very nice that you did this.

  5. September 20, 2007 7:05 pm

    Thank you Arnela! Hopefully I’ll post some more Ilahije soon. I’ve been trying to find some of the older ones – I’d like to find Zasto Suze U Mom Oku – but it seems too old to find on youtube. Also – I’ve been hoping to find anything from Resad Kadic – anything in the old classic mevlud style.

    Saddly though even I do not listen to ilahije that often though I should. You should see this video over at bosnamuslimmedia that explains the importance and beauty of them .. it speaks about rumi and celebrating that tradition which has been the inspiration for many of our poets: http://bosnamuslimmedia.wordpress.com/2007/08/04/dr-latic-o-znacaju-ilahija-i-kasida-u-bosnjackoj-kulturi/

  6. Bosanski Vojnik permalink
    November 4, 2007 5:11 pm

    Ilahija nije muzika jebem te gluho!

  7. November 4, 2007 8:26 pm

    Dear Samaha, I’m fond of Ilahijas too… and I’m from Bosnia!

    I’m so glad that there are other people on the world who love to listen that kind of music which is I have to confess very pure and original.

    Anyway, I’ll name some blogs’ names for you which contain ilahijas, lyrics and spots so that you can download it.

  8. November 5, 2007 5:45 pm

    Bosanski Vojnik – mozda mozes naci u rjecniku definiciju za Ilahija i Muzika i reci mi gdje ovo pripada. Tradicijalne ilahije nisu imale insturmente i nisu pjevane nego recitovane u stil da se moze tacno razlikovati pjevanje i recitovanje.

    Lamia, thanks for your comment. I had to delete the links as 2 out of 3 lead to spyware sites and the third while looking legitimate – I couldn’t take the chance of what may happen with downloading any of the mp3’s.

  9. Mensud permalink
    December 5, 2007 5:28 am

    Essalamu aleykum,

    As a Bosnian, and someone who performed ilahija’s, kasida’s and “spiritual songs” for more than decade, I would like to mention that majority of people don’t distinguish between ilahija and spiritual song. The text that you have translated is not ilahija. Rather, that could be called “spiritual song”. There are dozens of similar songs created during the war in Bosnia, but they are not even close to be reffered as ilahija.

  10. December 5, 2007 5:51 pm

    Mensud – thank you very much for clarifying that. When I search youtube under “ilahija” I keep getting the spiritual songs it seems to me that Bosnians are considering these as Ilahije now which is why I said the more modernized version is actually spiritual music and why I said I was going to get blasted for calling ilahije spiritual music.

    I will from now on differentiate between spiritual music and ilahije as I would like to see tradition stay tradition. I’ll see if I can find a true ilahija to post to the site. Thanks again.

  11. January 9, 2008 6:26 pm

    I`m from Fyrom-Kumanovo when I feel dissapointed listening your ilahis I feel much better.Generally I don`t listen your ilahis by earn but I listen it by heart – nefs.I have a request if it`s posibble to send me some your ilahis.

    Best wishes

  12. sistem_ljepote permalink
    February 17, 2008 5:04 pm

    Samo zelim da kazem da sam sluajno na ovu stranicu na letijo i da mi se “Ilahija” extra svidza 😉

    Selam iz Austrije !!!

  13. February 19, 2008 6:03 pm

    Selam sistem-ljepote!

    Bas trebam da stavim vise nasi ilahija i spirutalne muzike na ovaj blog ali nekako me nije dosta samo staviti video a da ne prevedem ilahiju ili pjesmu pogotovo kad obicni citaoci ovog bloga nisu Bosanci (i tako mi bude drago kad nasi me posjete – stvarno mi nasa raja nedostaje).

  14. Arnela permalink
    February 21, 2008 3:21 am

    Hello again..
    I have visited the web page you advised me and it was very interesting. The page as a whose seems very informative.. I’ve been also trying to find some old Ilahije (along with the video) on the internet but haven’t been so successful. But luckily I have many of those old ones on the tape. They’re around 20 years old.. 🙂

    Keep on the good work!

    P.S. Bas dobro sto ovo radis na engleski i time bogatis i one koji pripadaju drugoj kulturi.

  15. February 22, 2008 6:18 pm

    Arnela – so nice to see you again and wow – 20 years old videos! I found a few ilahije on youtube that are very traditional but now I’m having a hard time translating them .. the words are a little different from what I’m accustomed to .. old fashioned maybe.

    I just bought this book yesterday: http://www.elkalem.ba/popup_image.php?pID=120 I’m putting together a mevlud for my mom. Maybe I’ll put together an audio of it for the blog – no video though.

    Fala za te ljepe rjeci!

  16. Arnela permalink
    March 21, 2008 12:17 am

    No.. I wasn’t clear in my message. they are not videos. Just ilahije recorded on the tape. 🙂 But very nice…
    The books seems very good to have. And good luck with everything..

    Lijep pozdrav

  17. March 27, 2008 8:42 pm

    As salamu alaikom

    Dear sisters ann respect brothers, how are you?
    I’m sister Selma-Islam, and I just wana greeting you… Good Bless…

    As salamu alaikom

  18. March 27, 2008 8:44 pm

    Es selamu alejkum

    Drage sestre i postovana braco, kako ste?
    Ja sam sestre Selma-Islami i samo zelim da vas pozdravim…
    Blegoslovljeni bili

    Es selamu aleykum

  19. April 20, 2008 12:05 pm

    very nice! Does she have other songs out?

  20. Kladuscanka permalink
    September 19, 2008 5:20 pm

    Ovo mije omilljena illahija jedna od najljepsi posjeca me na mog oca koji nije vise tu 😦

    Respekt za Blog,i Pozdrav.

  21. September 22, 2008 10:48 pm

    Kladuscanka – fala! I dobro dosla na moj blog.

    Podsjeca me in na mog oca koji je isto preselio na bolje mjesto.

  22. Omer permalink
    September 26, 2008 8:52 pm

    Selam svima…..

  23. Bayram permalink
    February 28, 2009 6:51 pm

    Slam svima super ilahija nemoze bit bolja massala svima selam i neka inssala uzemo u ZENNET Selam iz Austrije

  24. November 3, 2009 10:04 pm

    Selam iz England;-). Sestro moja, I don’t speak Bosnian because I’m from Poland and living in England, but our languages are very similar, which makes it easy for me to understand Bosnian ilahije-i-kaside, at least where the words sound same or simlar to their Polish translation, because both Polish and Bosnian languages have Slavic roots. 😉 In fact, I love Bosnian ilahije and spiritual music of Bosnia-i-Herzegovina. While ilahije are genereally about Islam, Allaah and Muhammed, salla Allaahu ‘aleyhi wasallam – the spiritual songs are, like this one, mostly a tribute to the sehid (shahids, martyrs) who died for their country when Bosniaks were slaughtered by Serbs (remember Kosovo, ethnic cleansing etc.?). Here is one example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6PDILmII6HQ&feature=related
    This is link to a spiritual song but this one may be considered ilahija, I guess, because it is merely a dua’ to Allaah which is performed by brat Fuad Abdullah Seferagic: ‘Ne daj Boze…’.
    There is on youtube a traditional ilahija, as well. I’m now trying to find the link… Here it is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FM3S44Frcdc
    This is what you have called ‘nasal recitation’;-), a traditional ilahija. You will find some more with this link. I think the girl is reciting it in Arabic but it is Bosnian ilahija. There must be also in Bosnian language something like that…;-) Selam, ne te Allaah nagadi, sestro moja!;-)
    Aisha Baranowska;-)

  25. November 19, 2011 11:47 am

    ekstra

  26. November 19, 2011 11:48 am

    ekstra
    selam svim muslimanima

Trackbacks

  1. Nasheeds from Bosnia «
  2. Bosnian Spiritual Song « Saha

Leave a comment